Instant Vegetable Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
These are great and so easy! I like to add a bit more spices and up the green peas to a cup, but that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
awesome dish! The filling is similar to a samosa filling, I followed the recipe exactly except for adding garlic to the filling (because I add garlic to everything I can). I "formed the patties" by separating the crescent dough and rolling each one out a bit, then adding the filling to the center and wrapping the rest of the dough around it, pinching the open gaps together as I went. These baked up to a golden brown in 15 minutes in my oven, and I served them with some coriander chutney on the side. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made my own crescent rolls. The filling is super! My family wants these again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Just tried this last night and was very pleased. I tweaked the spice amounts to my taste and used reduced fat crescent dough. They tasted just like samosas. I served them apple chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Culinary Assassin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sabattus, Maine, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Although the filling is very tasty, I didn’t like the crescent wrapping. The overwhelming buttery taste of the dough didn’t seem to match. I used Pillbury brand which had 6 crescents. The package did say “butter flavor” but that’s all the grocers had. My 6 year old loved them though. Will try it again with possibly puff pastry or other plain refrigerated dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Not quite instant, not quite patties, but really good, relatively quick, and I decided they fit my diet. They're acceptably edible at room temperature, didn't try them cold. Thenks for the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I'm giving this 4 stars because my husband said, "Mmmm, good!" As for myself, I thought it was just OK. For one thing, the directions are confusing. How does an 8-count package of rolls produce 6 servings? There is really no indication of how to 'fill each roll and form into patties'. I ended up rolling them out a bit and using one roll piece on the bottom and the other on top, producing four large 'patties'. Oh, and if your filling is hot, you may want to do your forming right on the cookie sheet or you'll have a time getting the prepared patty off of your work surface, as the dough becomes very soft and sticky! I may use this filling again, though. It was tasty in a wrap with some chicken the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This is a great idea! Instead of the spices (which I didn't have), I sauteed some garlic and then added 2 tsp of garam masala spice mix. I also used two teaspoons of canned hot jalapenos instead of the chili peppers. I love samosas, and these tasted almost like the ones I get from the restaurant, and were much cheaper! I used Pillsbury reduced fat croissant dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Delicious. Almost like the samosas we get at the Indian restaurant. I used one jalepeno pepper instead of the 2 chile peppers and it was still plenty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States