Instant Pistachio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My mom made this when I was growing up too. My grown up variation is using chocolate pudding and chocolate chips instead of pistachio and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The flavor is terrific! However, this didn't work quite as well for me- it was a teenie bit runny. I omitted the marshmallows and added a drained can of mandarin oranges. I chilled it in the fridge prior to serving, but it still seemed a bit too liquidy. I served it on little dessert plates on top of some baby spinach leaves (just for decoration) and sliced a few bananas (because we had fresh from the backyard) and arranged the sliced bananas around the salad. I sprinkled some walnut pieces between the bananas slices and put a walnut on top of the individual salads. So presenation and flavor still made this an incredibly crowd pleasing dish. I thought it might be better after being in the fridge overnight, but it was still a bit runny. So, I popped it in the freezer. It makes a nice frozen dessert. Next time I will leave out the juice from the tin of pineapples and see if that helps. I think you could add cottage cheese to this too for a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Loved it! My son gave it a thumbs up too. This is a great dish for any occasion. This is really sweet though. I used sugar free pudding mix, and extra creamy whipped topping. I think I drained the pineapple too well though, it seemed a little "dry". Next time, I'll leave a little juice in it. So fast and easy to put together. I can't believe I haven't tried this before. This would be a great summer time dessert as it is light, cool, and not heavy. This was awesome just as it is, but I think it has great potential for lots of variations and personalization. Thanks for the recipe Margit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is a favorite at our house. Such a great way to get my kids to eat fruit. I don't drain the pineapple, and I use 16 ounces of cool whip (fat free) instead of only 8. I find this gives it a much lighter flavor. We also love it with 1/2 cup chopped pistachios. We like to add banana, peaches, pears, chopped apples, mandarin oranges, kiwi, whatever fruit we happen to have on hand. There are almost never any leftovers. This is one of my husbands favorite things, and it's requested for his birthday every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My daughter and her family came to stay with us because they had no power due to a bad ice storm. She brought some half thawed mango that I used in this recipe. It was really good! That demonstrates how versatile this recipe is. Allrecipes.com came in mighty handy during those days! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Went over very well, although I used lite Cool whip, and I think that regular would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was easy, tasted awesome, and was ready in 2 minutes! Who could ask for more? One time I made it with mandarin oranges added! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Muy Mother-in-law makes this all the time. My husbands favorite thing to eat. Best to make the night before so pudding has more time to set and flavors can blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Easy, tasty, pleasing to all, a hands down winner! Devoured at our Christmas Eve celebration! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States