Instant Pistachio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
My mom and my grandma always made this "Watergate Salad" As a previous reviewer said, they added the pineapple juice and cottage cheese as well. Thanks for bringing back memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This salad brings back a lot of memories of family get-togethers. I made this today for a picnic and it didn't disappoint. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used light whipped topping in place of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Tried this recipe for the first time at the request of a friend for her birthday bash. Followed the recipe as shown and it turned out GREAT!! Light and flavorful. This is now added to my list of quick summer desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITEIDEAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kemah, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was gross. After one bite, no one would eat any more of it. Even the kids didn't like it...and they eat almost anything! Don't waste the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is delicious! My mother-in-law calls it "Watergate Salad". No one knows where that name came from though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Great recipe. I can always remember my Mom making this growing up. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
I agree with other reviewers about the amount of liquid. I had drained the canned pineapple but at the end added the juice back in - it would have been too dry without it. I also added a small can of fruit cocktail as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I doubled this recipe for our Easter dinner this year. My husband loved it so much, he wouldn't let anyone else have seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this yummy salad last night to take to our family's easter dinner today. My mom has made this for years but I always enjoy looking at different versions of it to try. Your reviewers have given me lots of new versions to try. I'm going to try adding the sour cream or some softened cream cheese the next time I make it. Those additions both sound yummy! I too made it with the pineapple juice and added a small can of mandarin oranges. I used the mini marshmallows but I used the fruit flavored ones. WOW! Does this ever look like little colored easter eggs in there! It is so pretty! I had to taste test it and YUMMY! I know everyone will love it but.......I really hope there's some leftover for me to bring home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Gave 3 stars because it is better if you chill it overnight like I did, so the marshmallows can start to soften. Also, it would be better with some of the juice from the pineapple, I ended up having to add 1/2 cup of milk the next morning to moisten it up and make it more creamy. Without the extra liquid it is too clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States