Instant Oatmeal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I make this all the time, but have changed the recipe quite a bit. I use 1 cup dry milk powder, 3/4 cup icing sugar, and 1/3 cup brown sugar. I don't use any salt. Then I add whatever spices and dried fruit I want. My stand by is about 2 tbsp cinnamon and 1 cup raisins, but I've also tried it with dried blueberries and it turned out great. I eat it every morning, and love that it isn't as sugary as the packaged instant oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
i love this recipe between my son and husband who each eat 2 packets almost every morning i go through almost 2 boxes of the store bought every week! this recipe is great for me because i am an avid baker i have all these ingredients laying around my house already i also dehydrated some strawberries,blueberries,bananas,peaches blackberries and raspberries to make "cream" flavored oatmeals AWESOME!!! i just put the oats and mixture into ziplock baggies add the dried fruit and they just grab them up and throw it in the microwave with 2/3 c water and breakfast for way cheaper than before this is a 5 star recipe for taste ease and money saving!! thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Leave out all spices but cinnamon for it to taste EXACTLY like Quaker maple and brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Wish I could rank this 4 1/2 stars, my family eats oatmeal enough that this could save us some money which is great! The flavor was good but next time I make it I plan to leave out the cardamom (I think that was the flavor my 7 year old was not thrilled with). Oh another thing I like about this recipe is I have been watching my weight so this gives me the option of a nice quick and easy breakfast and I can put as little or as much of the mix in as I like. I don't have a choice with the packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made my own Pumpkin Pie Spice 1 from this website. It is a little heavy on the ginger. I add a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar, which my kids enjoy doing anyway, to even it out. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
We enjoy this a lot. I like the idea of having preservative free flavored oatmeal at home. I usually make regular oatmael at home because the flavored stuff at the store has so much sugar and preservatives. With this recipe you can control the sugar amount (I used half and still tasted great). I just wish I could figure out how to make strawberry flavored, peach, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent substitute for the store bought and way more economical. I did cut back on the confectionary sugar by half, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very happy with the mix. We are saving so much money by going this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good, but not super flavorful. I like it, and I like giving it to my toddler, but my husband uses five servings in his bowl to get it to his liking. I only used cinnamon, and it was good that way, although next time I will use more. It's easy and quick for a good morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We loved this, in spite of the fact that I accidentally used old fashioned oatmeal instead of quick-cooking oatmeal (OK, so it had just a little more "texture"), but that's my mistake, not the recipe's problem. I actually cook with cardamon quite often, so when I saw that ingredient, that was enough to send me to kitchen to mix this up. That and the fact that I had a box of nonfat dry milk powder sitting around for what seems like forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States