Instant Oatmeal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Excellent recipe & much healthier than the over-packaged, pre-mixed versions in the stores. I make it with slightly less sugar & sustitute brown sugar instead of confectioners. I keep the mix in a jaw in my cupboard & it's ready to prep when I need it. I put about 4 servings of oats into a baggie & put in the correct amt of mix. Then I add 1 Tbsp of raw & ground flaxseed to the baggie as well as sunflower seeds, chopped almonds & dried cranberries. Yuh. Umm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Fabulous! I have given this mix to parents and friends with the directions and recipe printed out and taped to the container. We've used a variety of fruits; our favorite is fried apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I LOVE this stuff! Like many of you, I take a ziplock bag of oats with this flavoring to work every morning. Quick, easy and much less expensive and no "chemical taste" that I am finding with the store-bought kinds. I did omit the cardamom, and have tried it with freeze dried strawberries, all very yummy options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
YAY!!! i never know what to do with the "original flavor" instant oatmeal that comes with the variety pack that no one in the family will eat. i hate throwing them out and there is no recipe that uses instant oatmeal. At last...this recipe is perfect. my 3 year old daughter doesn't even notice that this was the plain, doctored up! i add a scant tablespoon of this mix, 1/2 cup of boiling water. i didn't add cardamon and i didn't use the powdered milk because i don't have any, and...well, its EXPENSIVE! i don't have any other need for powdered milk so i didn't want to buy just for this. i figured i could add a splash of milk or cream to the prepared oatmeal if needed. Well my 3 year old daughter gobbled it up and that was without the splash of milk! thank you soooo much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
*****In case anyone needed to know i weighed all ingredients and found that there are 3 CALORIES PER 1 GRAM OF THE TOPPING!!***** I thiink I need to do something here. I didn't add the pumpkin or nutmeg or cardamom. I don't care for pumpkin flavor, but I think I may add nutmeg to it becuase as is, it's kinda bland. I also may have not put enough of the powder proportionatly to the amount of oats I had and I brought it to work to try it for the first time. so that could be my error. I'm used to the very sweet oatmeal. When I go home tonight I'll add the nutmeg and maybe a little mulling spice and some more brown sugar. And if that doesnt work, I'm sure my taste buds will adjust to this. I can see this saving me a ton of money! I eat a lot of oatmeal, and even on sale it can be expensive!---UPDATE!!! I made the changes and this definately fits my sweet tooth for oatmeal now. I needed a little more spice and more of the mix for the oatmeal! GREAT recipe! Looking forward to saving money now!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinsmommy920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very happy with the mix. We are saving so much money by going this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good, but not super flavorful. I like it, and I like giving it to my toddler, but my husband uses five servings in his bowl to get it to his liking. I only used cinnamon, and it was good that way, although next time I will use more. It's easy and quick for a good morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made my own Pumpkin Pie Spice 1 from this website. It is a little heavy on the ginger. I add a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar, which my kids enjoy doing anyway, to even it out. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Worked GREAT!! I didn't have Cardamom or use the cinnamon and I used the old fashioned oats (oops, bought the wrong thing), and my picky 6 year old still ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
i love this recipe between my son and husband who each eat 2 packets almost every morning i go through almost 2 boxes of the store bought every week! this recipe is great for me because i am an avid baker i have all these ingredients laying around my house already i also dehydrated some strawberries,blueberries,bananas,peaches blackberries and raspberries to make "cream" flavored oatmeals AWESOME!!! i just put the oats and mixture into ziplock baggies add the dried fruit and they just grab them up and throw it in the microwave with 2/3 c water and breakfast for way cheaper than before this is a 5 star recipe for taste ease and money saving!! thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States