Instant Oatmeal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Excellent recipe & much healthier than the over-packaged, pre-mixed versions in the stores. I make it with slightly less sugar & sustitute brown sugar instead of confectioners. I keep the mix in a jaw in my cupboard & it's ready to prep when I need it. I put about 4 servings of oats into a baggie & put in the correct amt of mix. Then I add 1 Tbsp of raw & ground flaxseed to the baggie as well as sunflower seeds, chopped almonds & dried cranberries. Yuh. Umm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaLoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Fabulous! I have given this mix to parents and friends with the directions and recipe printed out and taped to the container. We've used a variety of fruits; our favorite is fried apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I LOVE this stuff! Like many of you, I take a ziplock bag of oats with this flavoring to work every morning. Quick, easy and much less expensive and no "chemical taste" that I am finding with the store-bought kinds. I did omit the cardamom, and have tried it with freeze dried strawberries, all very yummy options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
YAY!!! i never know what to do with the "original flavor" instant oatmeal that comes with the variety pack that no one in the family will eat. i hate throwing them out and there is no recipe that uses instant oatmeal. At last...this recipe is perfect. my 3 year old daughter doesn't even notice that this was the plain, doctored up! i add a scant tablespoon of this mix, 1/2 cup of boiling water. i didn't add cardamon and i didn't use the powdered milk because i don't have any, and...well, its EXPENSIVE! i don't have any other need for powdered milk so i didn't want to buy just for this. i figured i could add a splash of milk or cream to the prepared oatmeal if needed. Well my 3 year old daughter gobbled it up and that was without the splash of milk! thank you soooo much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
*****In case anyone needed to know i weighed all ingredients and found that there are 3 CALORIES PER 1 GRAM OF THE TOPPING!!***** I thiink I need to do something here. I didn't add the pumpkin or nutmeg or cardamom. I don't care for pumpkin flavor, but I think I may add nutmeg to it becuase as is, it's kinda bland. I also may have not put enough of the powder proportionatly to the amount of oats I had and I brought it to work to try it for the first time. so that could be my error. I'm used to the very sweet oatmeal. When I go home tonight I'll add the nutmeg and maybe a little mulling spice and some more brown sugar. And if that doesnt work, I'm sure my taste buds will adjust to this. I can see this saving me a ton of money! I eat a lot of oatmeal, and even on sale it can be expensive!---UPDATE!!! I made the changes and this definately fits my sweet tooth for oatmeal now. I needed a little more spice and more of the mix for the oatmeal! GREAT recipe! Looking forward to saving money now!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devinsmommy920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very happy with the mix. We are saving so much money by going this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good, but not super flavorful. I like it, and I like giving it to my toddler, but my husband uses five servings in his bowl to get it to his liking. I only used cinnamon, and it was good that way, although next time I will use more. It's easy and quick for a good morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made my own Pumpkin Pie Spice 1 from this website. It is a little heavy on the ginger. I add a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar, which my kids enjoy doing anyway, to even it out. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Worked GREAT!! I didn't have Cardamom or use the cinnamon and I used the old fashioned oats (oops, bought the wrong thing), and my picky 6 year old still ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
i love this recipe between my son and husband who each eat 2 packets almost every morning i go through almost 2 boxes of the store bought every week! this recipe is great for me because i am an avid baker i have all these ingredients laying around my house already i also dehydrated some strawberries,blueberries,bananas,peaches blackberries and raspberries to make "cream" flavored oatmeals AWESOME!!! i just put the oats and mixture into ziplock baggies add the dried fruit and they just grab them up and throw it in the microwave with 2/3 c water and breakfast for way cheaper than before this is a 5 star recipe for taste ease and money saving!! thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States