Instant Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Used Hershey's dark cocoa powder and replaced Splenda with an 1/8 cup plus 1 Tbsp Nustevia brand stevia powder because i don't tolerate artificial sweeteners well. Added a tbsp of light cream to the hot chocolate. Outstanding!! Just what I was hoping for!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe to the T. It was ok. I like my hot cocoa to be really chocolaty. This recipe tasted more like the dry milk that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosalee Lugo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I noticed several reviews (mostly negative) that talked about packets of Splenda! Please people, know your ingredients. This recipe calls for the granulated Splenda, which has a bulking agent added so that it measures like real sugar. The packets do not. If you add 1 1/2 cups of packetized Splenda, the recipe will be 6 to 10 times as sweet as called for. If you are going to switch sweeteners (such as Stevia, packetized sweeteners, etc) then make the conversion based on 1 1/2 cups of sugar (Granulated baking Splenda already has this conversion built in...measure 1 for 1.) BTW..Recipe works great for me using the baking Splenda. TO make thicker, add a little extra creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Made a huge batch of this over a year ago and stored in a large Tupperware canister. Am now running out and have to make another batch. It is costly to buy the ingredients but it makes such a large quantity. I also make it with dark chocolate cocoa powder, though I use a free-trade, non-GMO product. My favorite thing to use it for, other than a wonderful cup of hot cocoa, is to put a scoop in a small mason jar, along with 2 TBSP of Chia seeds and 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk for chocolate-chia seed pudding. So Yum! I would give this recipe 10 stars (or a 100) if it were an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lynn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
i think it tastes to much like powdered milk for the amount of money spent making it. i went with 2/3 cups of dry milk and 1 1/3 cups creamer and 2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of special dark cocoa and it makes a screaming good cup of hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I've adjusted the ingredients to fit my palate better and love it! For 36 servings which fit into my processor perfectly, I use 2c. stevia powder 2c. powdered creamer 1 3/4 c. powdered milk 1c +2T. dark cocoa. Not too sweet, creamy enough, milky enough, and best of all Dark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanawat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This mix was too thin and watery for my taste using it in water, but the next time I added it to milk and it was creamier and much better. I like that it uses Splenda instead of sugar, making for a lighter hot cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I thought this was a nice recipe. I was concerned at 1st about the over all use of Splenda being so much. But after I mixed it up and then made me a cup, being that a standard packet suggests around 6 ounces of water. So taking in that the recipe is or says 24 servings, if you do the 2 tbsp of mix, you can work the batch out to about 34 servings. I didn't find the mix at all sweet to the point that it was excessive. It was rather mild. So I can justify the splenda ratio to the recipe. It really really wasn't overly sweet at all and that's what the marshmellows are for ;-) TY, this is a recipe I can see about keeping on hand for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I was rather dissapointed in this. The amount of Splenda seemed rather excessive and to buy the ingredients costs a bit of money compared to just buying a box of sugar free cocoa at the store. I changed the servings to 4, with the calculate button, and had to open 30 Splenda packets to get the amount specified! That comes out to 7.5 packets a serving! Maybe, the store packets have that much to, I don't know. To make a low sugar hot cocoa I normally just mix a little cocoa, a drop of vanilla, a pinch of cinnamon, a packet of Truvia and stir into some hot milk or milk/water combination. It is so easy! I thought having a mix on hand would be more handy. However, it took too long to mix up and I am worried about drinking a cup of cocoa with so much artificial sweetener. At first sip, it wasn't actually bad, but then I was left with the flavor of nothing but splenda on my taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I followed directions and put the mix through a food processor and it helped to keep it from settling in the bottom of the cup and to mix up easier with the hot water. Thank You for that suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States