Instant Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
They were a bit too gooey. Fall apart in your hand, a bit messy. I wasn't crazy about the flavor either. They're a bit too sweet for me. But then again, it is a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A 4 star for the 'concept'. I changed this, followed other reviewer's suggestions about the 3 minute continuous boil, and my cookies turned out quite well. Soft, but not 'gooey'. I did a half batch. I used 4 packets of Cookies and Cream Quaker Instant Oatmeal, 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract, a tiny pinch of sea salt, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, 1 cup of Splenda white sugar, 1/4 cup fat free vanilla yogurt (I had no milk at home), 1/4 cup of unsalted butter, and 1 TBSP Cocoa powder. I feel that as the instant oatmeal's already quite sweet, the white sugar could be halved. Also, the cocoa could be halved as well, but these are sweet and chocolately. Such an easy recipe to make... I really like that they turned out fantastic with fat free vanilla yogurt instead of the evaporated milk as well. Remember to stir stir stir for 3 minutes your sugar, yogurt (or milk if you follow recipe directions on site), butter and cocoa at boiling point as not to allow it to burn. Definitely a keeper recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I needed a quick snack for an impromptu snow tubing trip, and found I had all the ingredients for this recipe. While it is tasty, I do have to agree with the others who found it still very gooey and sticky after setting for some time. I followed the recipe, using half cinnamon roll, half plain oatmeal, about 1.5 cups of sugar and I boiled the chocolate mixture for a good three minutes until it was nice and fudgey. Then I popped the little darlings into the freezer. They set up well, so I thought all was well, but removing one from the tray, they are very sticky. Really a cross between candy and a cookie, as someone else mentioned. Very nice flavor, but next time I'll bake if I want a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Very yummy & very easy! I let the mixture boil for 3 minutes and once it was mixed with the oats and made into cookies they set in about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
They ended up a little goopy, but delicious. I'd add a splash more oats to the recipe to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this with 3 3/4 cups oats, brown sugar and 2Tbl cinnamon. No nuts or coca though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This recipe turns out perfect everytime. I added half a cup of peanut butter to the chocolate mixture and let it boil for 3 solid minutes and they turn out perfect every time. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KURGYD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
ugh - clumps of oatmeal held together by butter. I can't consider these "cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Easy and delicious! We used quick cooking oats, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Ths wasn't the exact recipe I was looking for, but it was OK. I will try it a different way next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States