Inside-Out Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anilug
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe!!! I made it for my mother's bday and for the church picnic. I did add sautéed mushrooms, zuchini, yellow squash and Brussels sprouts to the sauce. I also added 2 tbsp of cream cheese to the cheese mixture and topped it off with 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese before putting into the oven. I am a foodie by nature and a vegetarian. Well needless to say it flew off the table and my family is always asking me to make it again. Thanks for the base to this recipe.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this according to the recipe, but ended up using 12 oz pasta when I saw how much of the cheese mixture there was. At the last minute, I also decided to stir the pasta and cheese mixture together, with the sauce layered in the middle and on top and with extra mozzarella on top. We all liked this pretty well, but the nutmeg was quite strong and obtrusive. If I make this again, I would cut the amount of nutmeg in half so it would just add a little bit of pleasant nutmeg flavor. Update: I bumped my rating up another star to 4 stars because the nutmeg flavor balanced out after a day in the refrigerator and the leftovers were actually really good! I'd still cut back on the nutmeg next time to 3/4 tsp, though. I'd also like to note that the sauce recipe is quite good for something so quick. Usually I only like spaghetti sauces that have simmered for a few hours. I doubled the sauce part of the recipe (and added extra basil) and froze half of it for quick dinners of spaghetti later. It didn't take any more work, so why not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was exactly as promised: all the flavor of manicotti, but not as much work. I did think the nutmeg flavor was fairly strong as written, but since we like nutmeg that wasn't a problem. If you don't want that flavor to be as prominent, I would cut the amount down. Everyone at my house liked it, and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Not my absolute favorite and would still rather have manicotti anyday... but it was defnitely simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia2242

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was really good. I don't have much to play with in my pantry so I love that all these ingredients are a staple in my pantry. I didn't add the nutmeg, personal preference, I added garlic and some herbs to the sauce and a little garlic to the cheese mixture. And I cooked it with another type of pasta because I didn't have ziti and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I have to give this 3 stars. It's a great recipe, but the nutmeg ruins it. And why layer it? Just mix it up, cover it with cheese and bake :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was good. My family liked it. My youngest boy is not a fan of cheese, so it was nice for him to avoid the cheese since it wasn't mixed in with the pasta, but on top. The nutmeg, while good, was slightly overwhelming. I think I'd add less of it next time. And there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe is wonderful. My family loves it but I have to admit that I did dummy it up. Instead of making my own sauce I used my favorite store bought sauce. I have tried to stuff the Manicotti---Pain-- but this is easy and fast. Add a salad and garlic bread and dinner is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
The first response I heard from both my son and my husband was "What's in this?". "It's the nutbeg in the cheese layer" was my answer. The nutmeg is overpowering to say the least! The tomato/basil sauce was OK. Next time I make this I will probably use a good bottled sauce, skip the nutmeg and add a bit of garlic and grated Parmesan cheese to the cheese/egg mixute and maybe a mushrooms and spnach layer. This is a good idea for an easy-to-fix meal, but it needs tweaked and definitely skip the nutmeg!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States