Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This is the best chili recipe I've made, our family's favorite. I usually put use 2 cans of beans though, one black bean and one kidney. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centereach, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Love this chili! This is now my new favorite veggie chili recipe. My changes: I use only 1 tsp. of the chili powder, and it is still very spicy! Also, I drained the canned veggies...gives it a chunkier texture that my family loves. The mushrooms are a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Great recipe--My husband, a total meat and bread type, is soooo surprised with this dish! Served to kids with rice and cheese and sour cream. I did add more chili powder and less cumin. I also left out the red bell pepper (didn't want it too sweet) and celery (didn't have). TIP--those who found it too soupy can add in several scoops of spicy refried beans (vegetarian) to help thicken it up--heat it for about 5 minutes after you add it and just before serving it to gauge how much you want. Also, you can deglaze the pan with a few ounces of beer, wine, veg. or chicken stock before adding the tomatoes, etc. Great and flexible recipe--even for the cooking impaired. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I still prefer chili with meat but this was a nice change of pace. I took previous reviewers' suggestions and only put 1 tsp. of cumin, but doubled the amount of chili powder and it tasted perfect. I sauted the onions, carrots and garlic first, then transfered everything to a slow cooker and cooked for about 7 hrs. I used "baby" portabello mushrooms and lessened the amount of corn. Use low-salt or no-salt ingredients where you can. Thanks Tianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
For color and variety I add a couple of cans of different beans - chickpea, garbanzo, red kidney, etc. I usually skip the mushrooms for personal preference, but otherwise stick to this recipe. I would never have imagined that I would prefer veggie chili over a traditional con carne, but I think this recipe has converted me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
This recipe was a bit on the bland side. Adding salt, cutting the cumin down to about 1 tsp., and adding an extra tbsp. of chili powder would make it A LOT tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I love this chili and make it all fall/winter. I usually up the garlic to 5 or 6 cloves, leave out the celery and mushrooms, and throw a can of chickpeas and black beans in there as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wow. I am amazed by how flavourful and hearty this chili is considering how easy it is to prepare. This tops all the ground meat chili I've made in the past. I added romano beans and used yellow pepper instead of red. I also added a little paprika. Definitely a keeper. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Excellent vegetarian chili...I'm making a big batch of it for my Meat Out 2002 Event...I added Yves Veggie ground round and no one would ever guess it was purely vegetarian. Well done! It's a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I loved this recipe!! We are cutting back on our meat intake and this is a very filling recipe with great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States