Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
A little soupier than what I like in a chili, but it has good flavor. The only changes I made were leaving out the celery, cause I don't like it, and adding red pepper flakes and extra garlic and chili powder. Very healthy with all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very easy to make, good and healthy recipe. May use any vegetable you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie
Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is a great chili. I left out the carrots and mushrooms and added a can of black beans in thier place. Also I used tomatoe puree instead of peeled tomatoes since I don't like their texture. Last but not least i put in a little vegetarian sausage to thicken it up a bit. This keeps well and is a quick delicious lunch throughout the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Delicious! I left out the mushrooms and used a mix of black and kidney beans. This is classic chili just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I loved this recipe! I omitted the mushrooms, drained and rinsed the beans, and used frozen corn for a much thicker chili (the picture looked like soup to me), and it turned out perfect. Also we added a dash of red pepper and some salt. Add a quick salad to a cup of this chili, and you have a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I'm glad I didn't rate this last night when I put this together because my initial reaction was disappointing. Having let it sit in the fridge overnight, I reheated some for dinner tonight and it improved tremendously! I added black beans and chickpeas, kicked up the spices a bit more and did end up adding mushrooms, too. Flavors need to mellow overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Yum! I used to work in Washington, DC, and would get veggie chili at a little carryout - been looking for a recipe that's similar, and this is a winner! So easy, too! Like most of you, I made some changes to suit our tastes: I like veggie cihli a little soupy, so I added a couple cups of water. I omitted the mushrooms and added one small can of tomato paste; used 1/2 tbsp of garlic powder instead of the cloves; added about 1/2 tsp extra basil, oregano, and cumin to make up for the extra water; added extra celery, too. My canned corn and kidney beans were lower sodium. Very flavorful, even without salt added! I can't wait for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this for a group of heart patients. Most people were hesitant to try this because the title has vegetarian in it. I think they thought it was fullof tofu or something. I started calling it vegetable bean soup after a while and all of a sudden they loved it! I made it in a slow cooker just so I could keep it warm for a long period of time. I left out the mushrooms just because I don't care for them. It was very good and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
My husband LOVES this chili and asks me to make it often. You will not miss the meat in this one! I also add 2 or 3 cans of beans (garbanzo, black eyed peas, black beans and great northern). Tastes wonderful and leaves leftovers for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States