Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was so easy, full of flavor, and easily modified. I left out the corn, added organic chili beans, used 15 oz can of fire roasted romatoes, and used mostly chipotle chili powder (in addition to some regular chili powder). My version had a nice smoky flavor that was fantastic, especially with all of the veggies. There isn't much left over, but my guess is this will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We served Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili to our guests last night that came over to help put up and decorate our Christmas tree. The chili was a hit. "Wow, how colorful," and "This has so much flavor," were just a couple of compliments our guests expressed about the chili. Also, my husband thoroughly enjoyed preparing it, especially since it was his first time ever making chili even though he cooks professionally. We kept the recipe as it, except for skipping the celery. We provided our guests the following garnish choices: blue corn tortilla chips, sliced whole wheat baguette, shredded cheese, sour cream, and hot sauce. Our night was a tradition in the making! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was insanely easy and can be modified with whatever you have on hand. I used a can each of pinto and black beans and tomato sauce vs what the recipe called for and threw in spinach too since I had some and topped it with sour cream, it was great! We did not miss the meat at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
1st recipe I made since being diagnosed with type 2 diabetes. My 9 year daughter really enjoyed this as well. My wife wanted me to add some chicken but I made it exactlly as the recipe states. A keeper in my "new cookbook". Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I had a wake up with the cholesterol and a Dr visit this was an exceptional great tasting chili as compared to the meat 1's. Easy to cook and even easier to eat. This is 1 that has made it into my recipe file forever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Great recipe! A terrific way to get veggies into my little ones. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Using fresh, sweet carrots makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suekenai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
So good! Added a mostly-drained can of black beans and a tad more corn. Goes great with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This chili is so easy - and so good! I add a can of lima beans and serve with shredded cheddar and sour cream as toppings. My husband likes to add some tabasco, too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EastNashMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I really liked this chili for the fact that it didn't need any meat substitute for depth of flavor. (I had brought some in anticipation of chili but glad to find it wasnt needed). Plenty was provided by the other ingredients, particularly the mushrooms (I don't normally use them in chili). I used baby portabello. I used canned tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes (425g size) and I left out the green pepper because I don't like them. I also used half pinto beans/ half kidney. APart from that, nothing was changed. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States