Insanely Amazing Jalapeno Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I am the submitter of this recipe. 1.) Make sure to use real cheese, as the powdered stuff in the green can has a lot more sodium, and will cause the dip to be salty! 2.)If you don't like spicy, or if a lot of kids will be eating this, I would use about 2 oz. of jalapenos. If you like a little kick but not overpoweringly spicy, 4 oz is the way to go. If you can't get enough of the heat and like almost-inedibly spicy, you can try 6 oz. 3.) The best thing I have found to dip in this is sliced french or sourdough baguette. 4.)Also, if you want to use fresh jalapenos, it gives a wonderful texture. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Woo-eee! Girl, this dip is MONEY! Picked up most of the ingredients for this in the a.m., including a bread bowl which had been marked down. I used Cracker Barrel's 2% sharp white cheddar and reduced fat mayo. Man. My husband and I were fighting over the leftovers. I'm already thinking of when would be a good time to make this again! This one is a definite keeper fo-sho'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
We really enjoyed this one. Instead of a full cup of mayo I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo. Also, I used 5 small jalapenos from my garden for a really fresh taste. Just popped in the oven in a baking dish (did not use a bread bowl) until bubbly and served with a french baguette. Delish... I'll make this next time I have company, if they like spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shantif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Three stars as is but five stars with some easy changes. Having made this recipe several times before, I recommend the following changes/ additions: Substitutie 1 ( 8 oz) package of soft cream cheese, and 1/4 cup of sour cream to replace mayo (mayo is too sweet and sour cream adds a needed tang), bake this in a greased casserole dish instead of a bread bowl and then serve with toasted french baguettes (dough wont get soggy then and dip forms a golden brown layer on top). Divide the parmasen cheese into two half cups. Incorporate one 1/2 cup with the cream cheese mixture and save the other 1/2 cup for a topping (also my addition). Mix 1/4 tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste into cream cheese and sour cream mixture. For the topping, combine 3/4 cup Italian bread crumbs, the 2nd 1/2 cup of parmesan, 4 TBS melted butter and salt and pepper to taste. Once you have transferred the dip to the baking dish, spread the bread crumb mixture evenly over the top. Bake uncovered in a 350 oven for 30 minutes (or until the top is bubbly and golden brown). Serve with toasted baguettes. I would highly recommend doubling this recipe for a crowd. I always run out even after doubling and literally have people licking the bowl. SO GOOD! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
So easy and great tasting! I made a double batch for my last party and happened to have some left over. The next day, we split some chicken breasts, stuffed them with the dip, then baked the stuffed chicken until it was done. You could also flatten boneless chicken breasts, spread with the dip, then roll, hold in place with a pick, cover and bake. Mmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Insanely amazing is right! Wow! So good! I usually can't handle much heat, but this tasted so good, I didn't care. I couldn't find a round loaf of sourdough, so I used a crusty Italian instead. I served this to a group of men during their fantasty football draft and it was devoured. Thanks Happywife, I will be making this very often during football season! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I made this recipe early in the day to take to a get together. I ran out of time and didn't get to pick up the bread bowl so I microwaved the ingredients at my destination and served hot in my mini fondou pot along side of sliced sourdough baquettes. Everyone thought it was excellent, I even got some "I like this better than that other one your bring" comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I didn't use a bread bowl, just make sure to drain the liquid from peppers if not using a bread bowl. I used asiago cheese instead of parm more flavor and medium cheddar, next time I'll use 1 cup of chedddar. I also added 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. Very good! I'll make this often, thanks Happywife!!! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Made as written. DH and son ate quite a bit. Nicely spicy with 4 oz. jalepenos. Pretty oily (mayo) so will try with 1/2 mayo, 1/2 sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is so good! Everyone at the party loved it. I am making it again this weekend and I am wondering if it would work to put it in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States