Insanely Amazing Jalapeno Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
When I made this for the first time it was because I had fresh jalapeños to use up! Took some cues from other reviewers & replaced the mayo with soft cream cheese & greek yogurt. Baked in a 350F oven with some extra parmesan on top, then decorated with a few jalapeño rounds & served with thin sliced baguette. Got rave reviews. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
On my 3rd revision of this recipe now. So far I've ditched baking it in the bread bowl in favor of a shallow casserole dish then transferring to a browned sourdough bowl. Also since I have no taste buds left I have upped the pepper count to 6 roasted, peeled & chopped jalapeños, 2 fresh chopped jalapeños & 2 roasted, peeled & chopped Poblano peppers along with 2-3 cloves minced garlic, 1/4 cup grated yellow onion (patted dry between paper towells) & 1/4 cup chopped green onions. For the truly ambitious, substitute 1-2 Habanero peppers. I also substitute 1/2 cup sour cream OR Greek yogurt for the mayo, nix the Parmesan cheese in favor of a 1/2 cup jack & "almost" a full 8oz. log of softened cream cheese & then add about a 1/4 cup of panko crumbs to to mixture to offset the additional moisture from the fresh peppers & onions & just bind everything together. I also find that panko crumbs, a few tablespoons of Durkee fried onions, dry jack cheese ( & yes, some cayenne pepper) quickly toasted with butter makes a really tasty topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I wish I would have had Panko on hand but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
very hot..but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Would probably cut back on some of the heat next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Make this for all the gatherings and parties and it ALWAYS gets rave reviews! Thank you for an incredible recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is some seriously good dip! I had to modify the recipe only because I needed to use what I had on hand. I subbed mozzarella cheese for the parmesan and I completely left out the chopped green chiles. My jalapenos were fire roasted. This dip was really, really good and obviously versatile, as well! Thanks so much for sharing happywife05!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Loved this! The only change I made was to use 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of a whole cup of mayo. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this as written, and used real Parmesan as per the submitter's recommendation. While the flavor was fantastic (spicy and savory), it came out extremely oily. If I make it again, I'll have to do some tweaking to cut down on the oiliness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixeegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made the version described by PrincessDaBurgh where you substitute cream cheese and sour cream for mayo. Also, add the breadcrumb topping. My guests loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States