Insane Oven Beef Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Oh' WOW! made these ribs for my son's BD (he just turned 30) I made my own fiery hot Barbecue sauce for them. I used the long beef ribs. FIERY HOT BAR-B-QUE SAUCE: 1 Cup apple cider vinegar, 1/2 Cup Brn.Sugar, 2 TBSP Roger's golden syrup, 4 TBSP Worcestershire sauce, 9 TBSP chili sauce, 8 oz. tomato paste, 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard, 1/3 cup honey, 1/4 cup finely chopped onion. MIX IN MED. sauce pan. Cook on low heat, stir occasionally until thickened. Makes about 1 3/4 cups of sauce to baste the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Gehrman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was fanTAStic. I did the long ribs. They were perfect! I used cumin instead of curry, though. And I used Worchestershire instead of soy sauce. Oh yeah, and I added onion powder. I used all ingredients (minus the ribs) as a "sauce" to marinate the ribs overnight (reserving half of it to use while cooking) then covered tightly with foil. I slow cooked them at 250 degrees for several hours while we were out at a family function. (we were gone from 3pm to 6:30pm) They absolutely FELL off the bone and were sooooo tender! I had researched other recipes but this turned out to be the BEST launching pad recipe. This is going to be added to the hand-me-down family recipe box for all time. I might try to add cayenne pepper next time though. That might just put this "insane" recipe right over the top and commit us all to the asylum! Everyone at the table kept saying between bites, "mmm-this is really, really good." Honestly, there wasn't any intelligent conversation at the dinner table tonight; only exclamations of delight. And once dinner was over, immediate texting to friends about the great meal. My stay-at-home-mom, kitchen-cooking-ego is fit to burst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
1-had to cook an additional 20 min to get it tender, covered with foil to avoid drying it out 2-the sauce is great 3-overall a good recipe 4-3 lbs for my family of 4 with an 8 and 11 yr old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The sauce was delicious, the three stars are for the sauce. It needed way more time in the oven to become tender, as ribs should. Next time, I will bake with a foil seal at a lower heat for longer. That should solve the problem. I'm going to try this sauce with chicken. Note: per calculations with My Fitness Pal, this is a very high calorie recipie best saved for cheat day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is very good beef rib recipe. I usually do not cook beef ribs, but this recipe was full of favor. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
the sauce was good, i modified it with worcestershire sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Insane Oven Beef Ribs Haiku: "These ribs were okay. But the flavor was lacking. All the sauce slid off." Enlisted my hubbs to make dinner and he chose this recipe, and he followed it to a T. They smelled great, looked tasty, but all the flavor that went into the sauce didn't really cling or linger as much as we would've liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was excellent. Using a dutch oven, I made a few minor changes; I rubbed the garlic and curry powder into the raw meat instead of mixing it into the sauce and braised the ribs for about 2 minutes in a mix of olive oil and butter (about 1tbsp each). I then added the sauce and moved the concoction to the oven. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Pasquarell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Used boneless ribs.. found a new favorite recipe so easy can be made any day of the week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Delicious recipe to cook ribs in an hour!! Covered with aluminum foil for the first ten minutes, then added the remaining sauce at the 15 minute mark. Flipped the ribs at the 20 minute mark. Maybe should've boiled them for 25 minutes to make them more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States