Insalata Tricolore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This salad is DIVINE! Caprese salad has always been my favorite salad, but the addition of creamy avocado slices, puts this over the moon. The recipe does not call for basil, but I still like to add some basil strips to my salad. Also, to make this worth it, invest in quality ingredients-you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I regularly make this for lunch as it is very quick and easy. I like to serve it with fresh basil leaves on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
We LOVED this, it is super delicious! I am a big fan of Caprese salads, so I was a bit skeptical using the avocado instead of basil. This is fabulous, we had a platter of this as an appetizer yesterday and I'm making more today. I had to use small Campari tomatoes because large tomatoes around here this time of year are not very good. I recommend not adding basil to this because its going to kill the flavor of the avocado. I did see some members did this after reading reviews, I would not like this with basil added also. Be sure to use the salt and pepper too, this recipe is perfect as is! I can't wait to make this with summer tomatoes, thanks for sharing this. I will make this often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was a yummy salad, although the avocado, which I love, was kind of lost. Its delicate flavor was overwhelmed by the stronger tastes of the vinegar, tomato, and mozzarella. Also, if you're going to make this, you really can't skimp...you have to use high quality ingredients. As a result, this is a surprisingly expensive dish. This is very filling. My husband and I had it for dinner and it was more than enough to fill us. This would probably be fine to make 6 appetizers (one "stack" per person). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was quite yummy, but the avocados were out-of-place. I love avocados and will happily eat them any way they come. However, it is a shame to mar the brilliance of the fresh mozzarella and tomato- which is perfection on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
very good recipe, i added some fresh basil to kick up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Two of my favorites - tomato and avocado. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was wonderful and I am not a huge fan on tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is a nice, cool, summer appetizer. It's very pretty too. I chopped up some red onion and sprinkled it over the plate and added a couple chopped olives. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I put a basil leaf on top of each one and drizzled lemon-infused oil over the top to give it a bit of a zest. So lovely and refreshing. A very nice way to start a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States