Insalata Caprese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Sue
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I have made this for years, makes a great appetizer. I was first introduced to this while visiting Italy several years ago. Makes a great cool appetizer in the summer with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I make this as Hors d'oeuvre. I use the small balls (1/2" dia. purchased in a tub with the liquid, very fresh sold at our grocery store) of mozzarella, grape tomatoes, basil, put on toothpick...salt, balsamic vinegar and EVOO sprinkled on top. Place on a large platter and they will disappear before your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooLaMoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Love this and been making it forever. I also add roasted peppers and instead of using olive oil and change it up with balsamic vinegar instead. Either way delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I make this tomato ensemble every year when tomatoes are fresh and in season! You will want to use the "fresh" mozzarella balls - that's important. Also, a drizzle of good balsamic vinegar will top these off nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My mother has been doing this for years. The only difference is she adds a slice of prosciutto. It's a staple at every gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I have also used it as an appetizer by wrapping the basil leaf around a smaller & thicker mozzarella slice and using cherry tomatoes. Skewer the whole thing with a party pick and drizzle with a balsamic vinegar or a balsamic reduction along with the olive oil! They make a beautiful presentation on a platter for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is a great combination that is both tasty and colorful. Personally, I found the basil a bit overpowering and in the future I will sprinkle with chopped basil instead of using an entire leaf for each tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
It doesn't get much better or much simpler that this - it's absolutely delicious! It's so fresh and so good I could have eaten just this for dinner with a side a crusty Italian bread. It make a beautiful presentation on a platter. A definite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is pretty tasty as written, but instantly goes into 5-star deliciousness category with a swift drizzle of balsamic glaze or a homemade balsamic dressing. Quick, fresh, satisfying, and gorgeous. Get the best fresh mozzarella you can afford for this beautiful salad. It's worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made it for a dinner party 2 hours ahead to let the flavors marry. I lined them alternating on a dinner tray to see all the colors. On one line, I sprinkled balsamic vinegar--because that is my favorite. That was the first line to go! None left and the room was absolutely quiet with everyone savoring this lovely appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States