Insalata Caprese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was a terrific summer salad idea. I believe the fresh ingredients are what make this dish. I used fresh basil from my garden and garden fresh tomatoes. I found some mozzarella at a local market that was delicious. I drizzled just the olive oil as directed at first to this dish. However my basil is at peak and very strong flavor, so I drizzled a bit of Balsamic vinegar and the toned down the basil and I liked it much better with both oil and vinegar. Great appetizer idea for summertime when ingredients are fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by TALKTOKISHA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
It was very lovely. I would have liked the oil to taste a little bit better, so I had to "doctor" it up a little with italian seasoning, but it was a big party hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALKTOKISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I love this & we eat it all summer, especially for cook outs. Difference: I use balsamic vinegar, olive oil, ground garlic(not garlic salt) and some sea salt. I grow my own basil and only have to buy the fresh mozarella (cheaper at Sams Club or Costgo). It's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was wonderful! So easy, and such pretty presentation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I've always seen people make these. Didn't think about doing this myself until I got into having fresh basil all the time. This was a nice little treat for myself and my girls...my guys...aren't into fresh basil and tomatoes...so they passed. But I did serve multi grain crackers with this and my girls totally ate the plate gone. Nice little light lunch on the run or a light snack before a big meal. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I cut up Roma tomatoes into small pieces, stuck a piece of basil on the tomato, then a small fresh mozzarella ball with a toothpick. I drizzled balsamic vinegar, along with salt & fresh pepper and some minced garlic. These were just okay. My husband liked them, but forgot about them in the fridge so he must not have been overly crazy about them. Honestly, we both like fresh bruchetta better - that rarely lasts in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made on small slices of Campari Tomatoes. Pretty & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Actually fior di latte (cow's milk) mozz is the cheese to use originally, not even buffalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniminch

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Princeton, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I have made this for years, makes a great appetizer. I was first introduced to this while visiting Italy several years ago. Makes a great cool appetizer in the summer with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I make this as Hors d'oeuvre. I use the small balls (1/2" dia. purchased in a tub with the liquid, very fresh sold at our grocery store) of mozzarella, grape tomatoes, basil, put on toothpick...salt, balsamic vinegar and EVOO sprinkled on top. Place on a large platter and they will disappear before your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooLaMoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States