Insalata Caprese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I've always seen people make these. Didn't think about doing this myself until I got into having fresh basil all the time. This was a nice little treat for myself and my girls...my guys...aren't into fresh basil and tomatoes...so they passed. But I did serve multi grain crackers with this and my girls totally ate the plate gone. Nice little light lunch on the run or a light snack before a big meal. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I cut up Roma tomatoes into small pieces, stuck a piece of basil on the tomato, then a small fresh mozzarella ball with a toothpick. I drizzled balsamic vinegar, along with salt & fresh pepper and some minced garlic. These were just okay. My husband liked them, but forgot about them in the fridge so he must not have been overly crazy about them. Honestly, we both like fresh bruchetta better - that rarely lasts in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made on small slices of Campari Tomatoes. Pretty & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Actually fior di latte (cow's milk) mozz is the cheese to use originally, not even buffalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniminch

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Princeton, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sue
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I have made this for years, makes a great appetizer. I was first introduced to this while visiting Italy several years ago. Makes a great cool appetizer in the summer with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I make this as Hors d'oeuvre. I use the small balls (1/2" dia. purchased in a tub with the liquid, very fresh sold at our grocery store) of mozzarella, grape tomatoes, basil, put on toothpick...salt, balsamic vinegar and EVOO sprinkled on top. Place on a large platter and they will disappear before your eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooLaMoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Love this and been making it forever. I also add roasted peppers and instead of using olive oil and change it up with balsamic vinegar instead. Either way delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I make this tomato ensemble every year when tomatoes are fresh and in season! You will want to use the "fresh" mozzarella balls - that's important. Also, a drizzle of good balsamic vinegar will top these off nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My mother has been doing this for years. The only difference is she adds a slice of prosciutto. It's a staple at every gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I have also used it as an appetizer by wrapping the basil leaf around a smaller & thicker mozzarella slice and using cherry tomatoes. Skewer the whole thing with a party pick and drizzle with a balsamic vinegar or a balsamic reduction along with the olive oil! They make a beautiful presentation on a platter for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States