Insalata Caprese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I used fresh roma tomatoes and sliced up the basil instead of using a whole leaf. I also used fresh mozzerella which is a MUST for something like this! I bought the high-end stuff from whole foods to make veal parmigiana, and used the remainder for this salad. In addition to oil, I drizzled balsamic vinegar on top and let sit for about 30 min before serving. Really easy, fresh, and delicious! enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is just what I was looking for! A friend gave me a ton of basil and and I wanted to make this salad. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this with cherry tomatoes and cubes of fresh monzarella on toothpicks as a fun twist and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisawas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is delicious, yummm!! Another spin: Once, in San Francisco, I had sun-dried tomatoes with melted fresh mozzarella on Italian bread with fresh basil, served with some kind of garlic olive oil for dipping. It was fantastic. Has anyone had something like this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
The balsamic really adds something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Im a huge caprese fan! The only difference is I added balsamic vinegar. Sometimes Ill toss in some red onions and avocado. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Tasty, beautiful and popular. All good reasons to make this again and again. Served it as an appetizer with chunks of olive bread and olive oil and balsamic vinegar on the side. Even my toddler dished up a little plate for himself and enjoyed it. I used my home grown basil and next summer I am going to grow my own tomatoes just for this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Family loved it (except for 10 yr old who "doesn't like vegetables"). I committed the big faux pas of using dried basil but in a pinch it worked. I also added balsamic vinegar to the olive oil as one other reader suggested and it added great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I love this dish. I do like to add a little wine vinegar to it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. I reduce my balsamic vinegar until it becomes a glaze and then drizzle over the top, makes a sweeter glaze YUUUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insalata Caprese

Ripe tomatoes and top-quality mozzarella and olive oil make the difference.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States