Inger's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
WOUNDERFULL I have been trying to find a sauce to live up to my husbands grandmas sauce . This commes really close. My family LOVED it event my daughter that will not eat sauce. I did add more sugar white and brown then called for. 1cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made this a couple of weeks ago, and it was my first attempt at making homemade spaghetti sauce. It was delicious! The only changes I made were to add 1/2 pound of cooked, crumbled Italian sausage and 1/2 pound of cooked hamburger. I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was very good. I let it cook in the crockpot all day. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Robins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I found this sauce recipe to be very tasty. You can use it on a variety of Italien pasta dishes. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Nice easy sauce Inger. I make a sauce close to this but without the chicken granuals (and with pork & beef), and since I was using this to make chicken cacciatore, I was like "bonus"! It worked out fantastic, not only for the cacciatore, but for my daughter who won't eat my normal sauce because I add beef to it....she like it on her spaghetti tonight. I cut the oil down to about 2 tbsp. Don't be afraid to add the sugar...I use brown sugar (about 2 tbsp), as it does take the acidity from the tomatoes. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Great sauce recipe! I must admit that I haven't ever made it with all of the veggies (husband isn't a veggie guy...) but whenever I just can't stand the thought of sauce from a jar, this is the recipe that I always go to, and that rates it 5 stars in my book. It just has that 'authentic' taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I normally don't try recipes from this website with only 2 reviews, but this one sounded interesting so I made it. I made it as directed, then transferred it to a crockpot, and let it simmer for a few hours. I also added meatballs from another recipe on this website. (To me it just isn't spaghetti without meatballs!) When eating, I wasn't sure, something seemed missing. I then re-read the recipe and realized I had totally forgot to add the sugar and had also forgotten to season with salt and pepper as directed at the end of the directions. So the next day I threw the leftovers in the crockpot, added about a tablespoon of brown sugar, some salt and pepper, and just for fun, threw in a cup of red merlot wine. Let it simmer for a couple of hours. Oh my goodness, it was amazing. Served it with multi grain pasta. My favourite spaghetti sauce recipe from this website so far. Glad I gave it a chance. ps - I also forgot to add tomato paste, and found I didn't miss it - sauce was still plenty thick enough. Next time I make, I will try adding and see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent sauce!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I was thrilled to find this non-chuncky sauce recipe, I hate having huge chuncks of tomato in the sauce and this one really solved that issue. It turned out great, I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I used it to make manictotti and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This spaghetti sauce was delicious. I used 1 teaspoon of sugar and that was perfect. We used this sauce for a family get together and the whole family was happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States