Inger's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made this a couple of weeks ago, and it was my first attempt at making homemade spaghetti sauce. It was delicious! The only changes I made were to add 1/2 pound of cooked, crumbled Italian sausage and 1/2 pound of cooked hamburger. I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Nice easy sauce Inger. I make a sauce close to this but without the chicken granuals (and with pork & beef), and since I was using this to make chicken cacciatore, I was like "bonus"! It worked out fantastic, not only for the cacciatore, but for my daughter who won't eat my normal sauce because I add beef to it....she like it on her spaghetti tonight. I cut the oil down to about 2 tbsp. Don't be afraid to add the sugar...I use brown sugar (about 2 tbsp), as it does take the acidity from the tomatoes. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I normally don't try recipes from this website with only 2 reviews, but this one sounded interesting so I made it. I made it as directed, then transferred it to a crockpot, and let it simmer for a few hours. I also added meatballs from another recipe on this website. (To me it just isn't spaghetti without meatballs!) When eating, I wasn't sure, something seemed missing. I then re-read the recipe and realized I had totally forgot to add the sugar and had also forgotten to season with salt and pepper as directed at the end of the directions. So the next day I threw the leftovers in the crockpot, added about a tablespoon of brown sugar, some salt and pepper, and just for fun, threw in a cup of red merlot wine. Let it simmer for a couple of hours. Oh my goodness, it was amazing. Served it with multi grain pasta. My favourite spaghetti sauce recipe from this website so far. Glad I gave it a chance. ps - I also forgot to add tomato paste, and found I didn't miss it - sauce was still plenty thick enough. Next time I make, I will try adding and see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Excellent sauce!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Served this sauce tonight. My family is not keen on meatballs, so I skipped them. The sauce was "nice". Nothing special but the chicken boullion and poultry seasoning intrigued me. I didn't have 4 hours to simmer it. Let it simmer for 15 minutes. I was told tomatoes simmered any longer then this turn bitter and sour. Maybe next time I'll try the full four hours and see if it makes the difference between "nice" and GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
WOUNDERFULL I have been trying to find a sauce to live up to my husbands grandmas sauce . This commes really close. My family LOVED it event my daughter that will not eat sauce. I did add more sugar white and brown then called for. 1cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
We were not crazy about this sauce. It really turned out pretty much like doctored up crushed tomatoes. The texture is not sauce like and it has way to much green pepper for us. The green pepper is definately the dominant flavor in this. I might try to doctor up the left overs a little and maybe use my imersion blender to smooth out the texture. Thanks anyway but I'll keep searching for a great spaghetti sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Great sauce recipe! I must admit that I haven't ever made it with all of the veggies (husband isn't a veggie guy...) but whenever I just can't stand the thought of sauce from a jar, this is the recipe that I always go to, and that rates it 5 stars in my book. It just has that 'authentic' taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was my first homemade spaghetti sauce and it turned out very well. I made it in the crock-pot so I could fix it and forget it. I also added more vegetables like cooked carrots and then pureed it after it all cooked because we like a smooth sauce. This is a great way to sneak in tons of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this sauce today. I just threw it all in the crockpot rather than doing it on the stovetop so I could run some errands while it simmered. It was very good. My husband and I thought it was perfect as is without adjusting the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tolleson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States