Inger's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I only added chopped fresh mushrooms and a healthy dose of hot sauce and this is probably the best pasta sauce I've ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Great base sauce. Thickened it with some cornstarch and water. Will use the recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
My family really liked this spaghetti sauce, definitely will make again. Followed the recipe, but instead of using 2 cans of crushed tomatoes, I used one and crushed tomatoes from our garden. Only item I didn't have on hand was the poultry seasoning, seemed fine without it. I also used 1 tsp white sugar and a little more than a Tblsp. brown sugar and simmered for hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belgium, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I had a bunch of garden tomatoes I wanted to use so I decided to make this recipe and freeze it in portion-size zip lock bags. Using my digital kitchen scale, I weighed out the equivalent amount of fresh tomatoes. I just chopped them, not worrying about peeling them or removing the seeds. Like others I made this completely in my crock pot and I used brown sugar, rather than white, and added it to taste. Last night I pulled some out of the freezer to serve with spaghetti and Johnsonville Italian Meatballs, also from this site. When I reheated it, I decided to add a little cornstarch/water slurry, just enough to give it some body. I had been tempted to puree the finished sauce, but decided against it, and both Hubs and I really liked the chunkiness of it. It was delicious, and a terrific way to use our wonderful summer tomatoes! I’d definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was my first time trying home made spaghetti sauce. I find the store-bought sauces too salty. I left out the bouillon granules and seasoning mix, and just added a pinch of salt and pepper. I also added zuchinni and mushrooms. The sauce was great and I didn't have to drink a gallon of water afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This was an easy sauce to make. I followed all the directions and then threw it into the crock pot for a few hours to simmer. It was good but a bit too tomato-y for me. I wanted to add something but just couldn't put my finger on what it was. As is, it was great on meatball subs but for pasta it needed something extra. I like the tip to add a cup of merlot. That might tweak it to my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I have to admit, the unusual ingredients (bouillon, poultry seasoning) were what caught my eye in this recipe. I'm lazy, so I skipped the sauteeing and tossed everything in the crock pot on low for a few hours. I overdid the sugar (scant T instead of t...oops), making it a tad sweet so be sure to start w/the correct amount and add to taste. I also added a little red wine for some depth and a can of petite diced tomatoes for some texture, per personal preference. I skipped the green pepper, simply because I didn't have one on hand, but will try adding it the next time. THANKS, Inger, for a great tasting sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Yum! Used stewed tomatoes, because it is what I had on hand, and brown sugar instead of white. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Best spaghetti sauce we've ever eaten! We even use it for our pizza sauce. I make it in the crock pot - just throw everything in, set it on high for 4 hours, and done! Because my husband and I are on a low-sodium diet, we use no-sodium chicken bouillon granules and no salt added tomato paste. It cuts the sodium content down significantly without cutting out the flavor. I usually remove 2/3 of it for freezing, then add a pound of cooked ground chicken to the remainder in the crock pot and let it sit on warm for 30 minutes, so the chicken can absorb the flavor of the sauce. 5 stars! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I've never made spaghetti sauce before and was horribly afraid I'd screw it up. I found this recipe, saw its simplicity and the reviews, and I am SO glad I tried this one instead of another one from the intimidating long list of spaghetti sauce decisions. It has a wonderful flavor and my hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States