Indonesian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was amazing. I was afraid my picky husband and son would not eat it, especially with the strong aroma. But they gobbled it up and even went back for seconds. I used brown rice, so I had to cook it for about 45 minutes and then let it rest for another 10-15. In addition to the green onions, I topped it off with cilantro and a few mint leaves. This will be a regular at my house, but as another reviewer suggested, I too would cut the amount in half. My small family liked it, but I'm sure they don't want to eat the leftovers for a whole week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use jalapenos I stupidly picked up at the farmers' market... stupid because I had no idea what to do with them, they were just pretty. This recipe looked easy and I had all the ingredients. Well, it is delicious! My only change was to use only one jalapeno, since I didn't know how hot they were. Good thing, because one was way enough for us. So good and so easy. I will make this again for sure. I may add peas or something, it just seems like something else of vegetable form would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Smelled wonderful while cooking. Tasted good too! A nice addition to my rotation of side dishes. I'll have to try the tandoori chicken that so many reviewers are talking about. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
I left the cinnamon out and incresed the hot peppers to 4. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I was so impressed how great the rice tasted! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This smells so good when cooking! I used the spray oil instead of vegetable oil, brown rice instead of white rice, and omitted the chicken broth, using water instead. This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was fantastic, followed recipe well left out jalapenos everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it tonight along with an indonesian pork tenderloin. My husband and I loved it. I added a tsp of cinnamon instead of 1/2; just didn't think the 1/2 gave it enough zing. Paired it with sliced carrots & onions sauteed in butter and sprinkled with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I modified this recipe to more closely match rice I had at an Iraqi restaurant by eliminating the tumeric, adding more cinnamon, and adding about a tablespoon of sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Very good rice! I used brown rice instead of white rice. Next time I well make half because it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States