Indonesian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was a great side dish to go along with the Indonesian Satay. I took the advise of others and cut the recipe in half, which I was glad that I did for my family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I thought this rice was fantastic. Makes a whole lot--easily fed three adults and 2 children with about 1/3 left over. Everyone else claimed it was incredibly spicy, and it was a bit hot, but nothing overwhelming in my opinion. Not much hotter than the hottest sausage Ive ever tried. Quite yummy and filling--pretty easy to make after a little practice and goes great with Indonesian chicken satay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was amazing. I was afraid my picky husband and son would not eat it, especially with the strong aroma. But they gobbled it up and even went back for seconds. I used brown rice, so I had to cook it for about 45 minutes and then let it rest for another 10-15. In addition to the green onions, I topped it off with cilantro and a few mint leaves. This will be a regular at my house, but as another reviewer suggested, I too would cut the amount in half. My small family liked it, but I'm sure they don't want to eat the leftovers for a whole week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was tasty - I modified it a bit to make it more pilaf-y. I used brown basmati ("Texmati" American Basmati) rice, which took longer to cook - 30 minutes would be the minimum cook time, and maybe a bit longer. I sort of combined this with the Risi-Bisi recipe, adding toasted pine nuts, peas, and my own addition, raisins. I didn't have turmeric so I used curry, and I cut the recipe in half but kept the spices as they were, so the ratios were doubled (since some said it was bland). It was delicious! I highly recommend adding raisins! The 4 stars are only because of the cooking time issue. This dish reminded me of some of the better pilafs I've purchased frozen from Trader Joe's or in a box - very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Boy did we love this, served with the Indonesian Chicken Satay from this site. I was nervous that my husband wouldn't like the heat from the jalapenos,but he was crazy about it, and he's not even much of a rice fan. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I modified this recipe to more closely match rice I had at an Iraqi restaurant by eliminating the tumeric, adding more cinnamon, and adding about a tablespoon of sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings & I used brown basmati rice. I also used curry powder for the turmeric. It was a very nice accompaniment to Spicy Chicken Curry....thansk Andi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Mine ended up tasting like Yellow Rice from a box. Which is actually good because I like Yellow Rice out of a box, but quit buying it because of the fat and sodium content. I left out the jalepenos because I didn't want it spicy and left out the cinnamon because my husband had previously told me he didn't care for cinnamon in his rice. I used low sodium chicken broth and felt the end result needed a little salt. This was every bit as easy as boxed rice and I will make it often I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Really good! Love the flavors and the taste! Plus, it makes quite a bit, so you can have this for lunch since there are so many leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Very good rice! I used brown rice instead of white rice. Next time I well make half because it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States