Indonesian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was amazing. I was afraid my picky husband and son would not eat it, especially with the strong aroma. But they gobbled it up and even went back for seconds. I used brown rice, so I had to cook it for about 45 minutes and then let it rest for another 10-15. In addition to the green onions, I topped it off with cilantro and a few mint leaves. This will be a regular at my house, but as another reviewer suggested, I too would cut the amount in half. My small family liked it, but I'm sure they don't want to eat the leftovers for a whole week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use jalapenos I stupidly picked up at the farmers' market... stupid because I had no idea what to do with them, they were just pretty. This recipe looked easy and I had all the ingredients. Well, it is delicious! My only change was to use only one jalapeno, since I didn't know how hot they were. Good thing, because one was way enough for us. So good and so easy. I will make this again for sure. I may add peas or something, it just seems like something else of vegetable form would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Smelled wonderful while cooking. Tasted good too! A nice addition to my rotation of side dishes. I'll have to try the tandoori chicken that so many reviewers are talking about. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
I left the cinnamon out and incresed the hot peppers to 4. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I was so impressed how great the rice tasted! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This smells so good when cooking! I used the spray oil instead of vegetable oil, brown rice instead of white rice, and omitted the chicken broth, using water instead. This is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This was fantastic, followed recipe well left out jalapenos everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was wonderful! I made it tonight along with an indonesian pork tenderloin. My husband and I loved it. I added a tsp of cinnamon instead of 1/2; just didn't think the 1/2 gave it enough zing. Paired it with sliced carrots & onions sauteed in butter and sprinkled with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I modified this recipe to more closely match rice I had at an Iraqi restaurant by eliminating the tumeric, adding more cinnamon, and adding about a tablespoon of sugar. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Very good rice! I used brown rice instead of white rice. Next time I well make half because it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States