Indonesian Spiced Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
Quick and easy! I added carrots and mushrooms. Thought the dish would benefit from a handfule of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
I left the cinnamon out and incresed the hot peppers to 4. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
I loved this... It tasted soo good. I didn't have jalapeno peppers so I substituted green peppers instead. It was very tasty. Works extremely well with Chicken Tandoori found on this site, and the combination has definitely become a keeper. Thank you Andi :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I was so impressed how great the rice tasted! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This was a nice side dish, but nothing too fancy or mind-blowing. My boyfriend said it was good and asked if it was a curry dish. The turmeric gave it the look and flavor of a mild curry dish. There were no rave reviews for the effort. I used it as an accompaniment to Indonesian Satay (on this site). I think it would have been much better with an Indian dish (like Tandoori Chicken as another reviewer mentioned). The Indonesian Satay really should have had a white jasmine rice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Smelled wonderful while cooking. Tasted good too! A nice addition to my rotation of side dishes. I'll have to try the tandoori chicken that so many reviewers are talking about. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Very good rice! I used brown rice instead of white rice. Next time I well make half because it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Really good! Love the flavors and the taste! Plus, it makes quite a bit, so you can have this for lunch since there are so many leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Mine ended up tasting like Yellow Rice from a box. Which is actually good because I like Yellow Rice out of a box, but quit buying it because of the fat and sodium content. I left out the jalepenos because I didn't want it spicy and left out the cinnamon because my husband had previously told me he didn't care for cinnamon in his rice. I used low sodium chicken broth and felt the end result needed a little salt. This was every bit as easy as boxed rice and I will make it often I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings & I used brown basmati rice. I also used curry powder for the turmeric. It was a very nice accompaniment to Spicy Chicken Curry....thansk Andi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States