Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Kids loved it!! Hubby liked the chicken but said the peanut sauce was too sweet. I subbed catsup for the tomato sauce and cut sugar in half. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merlion
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very good. However, the chicken came out a little dry... wondering if it should be basted over the course of grilling them... Also, for added heat, I included cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes in the peanut sauce. Good fix for authentic satay craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This marinade is simply amazing! It is so simple and doesn't require having special exotic ingredients on hand. I substituted regular canola oil for the peanut oil and made my own tomato sauce using a squeeze of tube tomato paste and water. It still tastes just wonderful. I also added some red pepper flakes for heat. I'm also surprised how much flavor this gives the chicken without a very long marinade time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very good. I did add some hot curry powder...I don't like chunky peanut butter, so I used creamy....Also, I added extra garlic...I think it would be really good with some hot pepper flakes....It was unusual and yet I really enjoyed it and so did my dinner company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I used ketchup instead of tomato sauce, but kept everything else the same. The recipe made WAY too much sauce, I could have made a quarter recipe and been fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I did not have any lemon juice so I used lime. This came out great and I enjoyed the dipping sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was good and not too hard to make, but it was just okay. The sauce was better with a bit more peanut butter. I didn't have peanut oil, so I used sesame oil to still give it that nutty flavor. Overall, the marinade for the chicken just didn't go with the peanut sauce. My boyfriend hated it, but thought it was okay and would give it a 4. I feel like if I could still use the peanut sauce, but I wouldn't use the marinade again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was delicious! I marinated it for about 3 hours. I made 3 different dipping sauces to go with this so the kids had some choices (peanut-from my own recipe, sweet chile, and honey mustard) and there was not a single piece of chicken left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Wow...that's all I have to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Albina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Celebration, Florida, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States