Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
We loved this! Marinated about 45 minutes. Used regular, not chunky peanut butter for the sauce; left out the onions but included a little onion powder. Served over fried rice. To make for 2 of us, I used 8 oz. chicken and cut the marinade and sauce recipe in half. Next time will probably make less sauce, as there was a lot left over, but will probably serve it with grilled pork chops tomorrow. Never had Satay before, but will definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This Indonesian Satay recipe was so delicious! I was surprised that the very-simple-to-prepare soy-tomato-cumin marinade for the chicken tasted so exotic. My husband thought that the chicken tasted excellent on its own without the peanut sauce, and in fact he packed the leftovers for his lunch that way. I thought the peanut sauce tasted good without the sugar, but my husband didn't agree. The only change I made to this recipe was to substitute the 2 tablespoons of sugar with 1 tablespoon of honey. We will definitely be making this recipe again many, many more times. Thank you Estherlita Suryoputro for introducing us to Indonesian Satay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was ok, marinade was good and simple but the sauce was pretty bland and tasted to much like peanut butter. I will be sure to add some extra spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terez Sullins Pederson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The chicken is amazing and so is the sauce! The flavors in the sauce go together perfectly although the marinated chicken tastes so good it doesn't really need a sauce! I had success using chicken thighs instead of breasts and cooked the chicken with the George foreman. I served it over rice with some steamed broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
The chicken was OK, and the sauce was bland. The recipe sounded so good and I really thought I would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
My family loves when this dish is served for dinner. That peanut sauce is the bomb diggity. I pair it with sticky white steamed rice because I'm from Guam and that's how we eat everything lol!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
As the caption says, "Loved it" I kept the chicken breasts in larger pieces and served it Brown Rice covered in sauce! Yummy!!! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi-Lee Wewege

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I normally don't bother rating these, but this one was so good I had to chime in. I followed the recipe as-is and it was fantastic! I only marinaded for about an hour but that was plenty of time. It does make a lot of the dipping sauce, so if you're doubling up, no need to do it for the sauce. Easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
really good, the sauce got better and better with time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was delicious!!! It is one of the rare dishes that gets five-stars from all members of the family: from the picky 6-year old to the picky 48-year old and the two epicurians in between. I marinated the chicken for 20 minutes and did not have tomato sauce but the marinated chicken alone was wonderful. The peanut sauce gave it the wow. I ate mine with a little cilantro on top. Fabulous and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States