Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
If you don't have tomato sauce you can use ketchup and it tastes the same! I also used sesame oil instead of peanut b/c that is what I had. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nacloud234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
A great recipe! I make this once a week. I don't make the peanut sauce. I'm not a fan of it. It just tastes like peanut butter, and I can't taste any of the other flavours so I don't make it. The marinade for the chicken is amazing! I would give it 5 stars alone! I usually let it marinade for 4 hours but I've even done 24 hrs while taking it camping. I make it as written but I use toasted sesame seed oil instead of peanut oil and I add red chili peppers bc we like a little heat. I bbq the chicken or I'll make it on the stove as a stir fry. I like to serve this on top of sticky rice or along a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sa'
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Really good and easy to do! Didn't have tomato sauce, so I used ketchup instead. Also added a pinch of garlic powder, gala powder, and salt. The peanut sauce is great. I wasn't sure of the minced onion, but it made the sauce more "hearty." Also added red pepper flakes, and simmered for a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sa'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I lived in Indonesia for eight years, and this peanut sauce is great. It also works well on blanched vegetables (like gado-gado), and a little extra heat from some chilies doesn't hurt it at all! Estherlita, this recipe has gone all over the world because I have been making it and giving out the recipe since 2004 (2005?). I have served it in Texas, Alaska, Azerbaijan and Turkey. I have sent the recipe link to friends in Norway and the UK. It's popular everywhere. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This good and pretty easy to make - we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I give the chicken a 5* but the sauce a 3*. The chicken was really good and I would for sure make the chicken again. I marinated for a few hours and it had a wonderful flavor. The sauce was as thin as water and did not have very much flavor at all. When I make this again I wont make the sauce. I seved the is homeade wonton soup and lettuce wraps... what a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I prepared it for a party and everyone loved it. I doubled the peanut butter and the water as suggested by some of the reviewers, but I think it would have been perfectly fine as it is in the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Really liked this. Made it just as written. I liked the sauce, my kids ate it without and thought the chicken with the marinade was excellent 'as is' even without the sauce. Marinated it about 5 hours, and it was very tender. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Family went crazy over the chicken, not so much the peanut sauce. The sauce just tasted like melted peanut butter to me; I couldn't taste anything but that. Might try some other sauce next time. On the whole, this was a big hit, and I will be making this again. It is a little work intensive first time making it, but I figure next time will be easier, and it was well worth the applause I got at dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Really good chicken recipe! I used my indoor grill pan because it was raining outside. Chicken came out perfectly juicy and not dry at all. Loved the marinade. The peanut dipping sauce was good, but I made it even better by the addition of some Sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States