Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Wow, so quick and delicious - I doubled the recipe for a group of 8 and everyone loved it!! Someone said it was up there with the stuff they have ordered at restaurants. Served with white rice and broccoli to make it a full meal. Only thing that was changed was that we grilled it on a nonstick grill pan on the BBQ. It came out super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Cut the recipe in half as I was cooking for two. It's not like me to completely follow a recipe, but this time I did! This chicken recipe is awesome!! I didn't make the peanut sauce as I think it's the first time in 40 yrs. I was out of peanut butter:-( I will be making this again very soon.. we both loved it!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
YUM!! I read the reviews and couldn't wait to try this. It is simple, has ingredients that are already at hand , AND it is so good! I took one of the review suggestions and used ketchup instead of tomato sauce and it worked very well. My kids were leery of trying something new, but after they tasted this they said they want me to make it at least once a week! They next time I make it, I think I will kick it up a notch with some cayenne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and everyone loved it. For those of you who find the sauce too thin, reduce the amount of water added! You don't need more peanut butter and you don't need to cook it down, just add the water at the end of your ingredients in small amounts up to a cup until you have reached the right level of thickness for you. We all found it flavorful and although I love spicy food, I didn't see the need for adding pepper flakes. Thanks for a really easy, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Love this wonderful recipe. Too cold to grill so I broiled them. I used extra chunky peanut butter. I subbed ketchup for the tomato sauce, out of peanut oil so I used 1 teaspoon sesame oil and 2 teaspoons canola oil. Served with Basmati rice and peas. This will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Chicken was really tasty off the grill. Dipping sauce was good, but a little peanutty. Overall everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wow! Made this for dinner tonight and I couldn't get enough of it. Increased the amount of cumin in the marinade, marinaded for 1 hour, and decided not to make the peanut sauce tonight, but I will try it next time I make this. Because we don't have a grill and I didn't want it to burn on the george foreman, I put it under the broiler for eight minutes per side-- juicy, flavorful, and delicious! Not a perfect recipe, but for ease of preparation, you can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Good marinade and even better sauce. Chunky peanut butter is a must. This was delish. Thanks! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
If you don't have tomato sauce you can use ketchup and it tastes the same! I also used sesame oil instead of peanut b/c that is what I had. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nacloud234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This Indonesian Satay recipe was delicious! I was surprised that the very-simple-to-prepare soy-tomato-cumin marinade for the chicken tasted so exotic. My husband thought that the chicken tasted excellent on its own without the peanut sauce, and in fact he packed the leftovers for his lunch that way. I thought the peanut sauce tasted good without the sugar, but my husband didn't agree. The only change I made to this recipe was to substitute the 2 tablespoons of sugar with 1 tablespoon of honey. We will definitely be making this recipe again many, many more times. Thank you Estherlita Suryoputro for introducing us to Indonesian Satay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States