Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I am of Dutch descent, where Indonesian cuisine was quite popular. This recipe is freakin' superb. Try it. You will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
WOW talk about EASY and extremely tasty!!! Our family absolutely loved this satay recipe!! I didn't think 15 minutes of marinating time would be enough but it was very good!! We love spiced up food so next time I might marinate it even longer. We used our George Foreman grill and since it cooks both sides at the same time we just grilled it for 5 minutes and it came out great!!! Thanks Estherlita...this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
These were a positive hit at my dinner event. Even with my substitutions, they were delicious. I used pasta sauce instead of the tomato sauce, and olive oil for the peanut oil. I also, shocked by how liquidy my peanut sauce was turning out, doubled the peanut butter to 1 cup. I'm used to a thicker sauce, and this turned out just how I wanted it. A restaurant-quality recipe - thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I loved this dish as did my family. I did spice up the peanut sauce with a bit of red pepper flakes as was suggested by other reviewers. Otherwise, the recipe was perfect. Served with basmati rice and a side of broccoli. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Oh my God! This is fabulous...It has alot of ingredients, but is worth the effort I made this as written. If you are not going to make it as written and you don't like it then you shouldn't rate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Delicious, easy and visually appealing makes this a perfect appetizer for company. I made the following modifications: halved the marinade for one chicken breast; substituted ketchup for tomato sauce; added a pinch of red pepper flakes; flattened chicken before cutting into strips; marinaded chicken in a bag for four hours; soaked skewers for at least two hours; grilled on my Cuisinart griddler. I did not make the peanut sauce. I look forward to trying this again with a fattier cut of chicken like the thigh, as well as with pork, beef and prawns. This is a wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was really good. And will go in my party folder recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Roxana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Great chicken! Didn't care for the dipping sauce...too peanuty. I had chicken satay at a party recently and the sauce had a bit of curry, maybe? The marinade is great and I'll definitely use it again. I did add a bit of chili paste to the marinade to give it a little zip. Thanks Estherlita for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
Thank you Estherlita! My 6 year old daughter couldn't get enough - she ate more than my husband and myself. I accidentally opened up tomatoe soup and used that instead of the tomatoe sauce and it still turned out great. Thanks for this recipe - a definite do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Fantastic! As good as any restaurant. I left it to marinade about 1 hour. This would be just as good made with chicken thighs. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States