Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Really good marinade! My my is an Indo, and this tastes so much like the way my mom and my aunts used to make it. Yummy! I haven't tried the peanut sauce, my family typically makes one using galangaal, but I'm sure this recipe is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
We tried this recipe, as my son is preparing to go to Indonesia for the next 2 years. It was very simple to make and it tasted really good. Even my picky daughter liked it. I only marinated the chicken for about 30 minutes. I used chicken tenders because that's what I had, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The chicken was delicious by itself, but if you are a peanut sauce lover it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was good. I marinated for about an hour. Hubby thought it was fantastic. I had enough chicken left over to make big salads the next night, and it was super yummy that way too. Will put this in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
so yummy! I subbed coconut oil for the peanut and vegetable oil. Tasted more exotic that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I thought the chicken turned out delicious and the peanut sauce was tasty, but the flavors didn't meld that well for me compared to other satay recipes. The chicken was really some of the best I've had and will probably make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Peanut sauce needs less water (try 1/2 cup next time) and a few dashes of curry powder to give the sauce a nice undertone. Otherwise, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I was so excited to see that an Indonesian posted this recipe : ) You can't get more authentic than this!! This is the best tasting satay I've ever had outside of Indonesia and my friends, who've also had this in Indonesia, RAVED about it. It's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Although I didn't have a grill, the chicken still tasted great. I did fry them in peanut oil to give it more of a peanut taste since I couldn't have the charcoal taste. My only problem with this recipe is the sauce. It was too runny for my taste and not enough peanut flavor. I think I'll use the chicken marinade but continue using the peanut sauce I grew up with. Served with rice and cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was a big hit at a party we had. We took the meat off the skewers and offered toothpicks to make it an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States