Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Although I didn't have a grill, the chicken still tasted great. I did fry them in peanut oil to give it more of a peanut taste since I couldn't have the charcoal taste. My only problem with this recipe is the sauce. It was too runny for my taste and not enough peanut flavor. I think I'll use the chicken marinade but continue using the peanut sauce I grew up with. Served with rice and cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was a big hit at a party we had. We took the meat off the skewers and offered toothpicks to make it an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I did not care for this recipe for Satay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was just okay. I marinated for way longer than 15 minutes, but the chicken didn't have much flavor. I did like the sauce but my husband thought it just tasted like straight peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I've made it twice for company and it's a hit. I served it for appetizers tonight. I marinaded the chicken for about 30 minutes, then cooked it on the charcoal grill. The chicken breast is tender and juicy. Everyone loved the peanut sauce. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Chicken needed to be marinated longer, tasted very bland. The peanut sauce was different however I thought it was missing something, not quite sure what it could be!! Maybe just salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I lived in Indonesia for several years. My whole kitchen smelled like the streets of Java after I made this. I grilled the chicken and it still turned out great. Very authentic. Easy to make. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is SO good, and so easy! I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I only used the marinade of this recipe but it turned out really well. I added some cayenne and curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe is soooo good! I made a few alterations. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts, left them whole and put them on skewers. Because the pieces were larger than the recipe calls for, I let them grill a bit longer to ensure that they were cooked through. The sauce is wonderful! We like things spicy so I added heat with dried red pepper flakes. I served it over white rice and poured the sauce over the skewered chicken, that way the sauce could drip down into the rice. I will make this again and again...it is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States