Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
delish - made it exactly as written except with chicken tenders instead of cubes. Didn't know how I felt about the tomato sauce in the marinade, but it made a really delicious tender chicken. The sauce made my kids really happy - they said it tasted just like the sauce at the thai restaurant they like! I would make this again with no changes, it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I added more garlic to the marinade, and more soy sauce to the peanut sauce, used creamy instead of chunky peanut butter and the pureed it in a food processor because the chopped onion made it more chunky than my kids would eat. EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrKen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Estherlita - this recipe is spot on - allthough i normally marinate the meat in ketchap manis (sweeet indonesian soy sauce) just to cut a few corners when making dinner. Thanks a mill for sharing - I've made this dish using this recipe now umpteen times and cannot praise it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Hands down the most delicious meal I have ever made. Brought this to a BBQ and they went in minutes- I didn't bring enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is so good, the flavors are amazing. I didn't cube my chicken, I sliced each breast into thick strips and marinated for a few hours. The only change I made was to use more PB as the sauce was too thin for our tastes. I just stirred in extra PB and let it melt in the warm sauce until it was the way we like, maybe another3/4 cup. My husband could not get enough of this! Served this over basmati rice with green onions and with sesame green beans. I'll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I enjoyed the "peanut satay" so much while I was in the Dutch Antilles and have been trying different recipes which have all been disappointing. This one is killer! There is so much delicious flavor in the marinade and the dipping sauce. I used natural peanut butter. I may play with it and change it up but it gets 5 stars from me as is. Also, I have never rated a recipe on here in about 5 years of use and this one was so good I just had to let you all know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Really good marinade! My my is an Indo, and this tastes so much like the way my mom and my aunts used to make it. Yummy! I haven't tried the peanut sauce, my family typically makes one using galangaal, but I'm sure this recipe is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
We tried this recipe, as my son is preparing to go to Indonesia for the next 2 years. It was very simple to make and it tasted really good. Even my picky daughter liked it. I only marinated the chicken for about 30 minutes. I used chicken tenders because that's what I had, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The chicken was delicious by itself, but if you are a peanut sauce lover it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was good. I marinated for about an hour. Hubby thought it was fantastic. I had enough chicken left over to make big salads the next night, and it was super yummy that way too. Will put this in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
so yummy! I subbed coconut oil for the peanut and vegetable oil. Tasted more exotic that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States