Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Chicken needed to be marinated longer, tasted very bland. The peanut sauce was different however I thought it was missing something, not quite sure what it could be!! Maybe just salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I lived in Indonesia for several years. My whole kitchen smelled like the streets of Java after I made this. I grilled the chicken and it still turned out great. Very authentic. Easy to make. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is SO good, and so easy! I'll definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I only used the marinade of this recipe but it turned out really well. I added some cayenne and curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe is soooo good! I made a few alterations. I used chicken thighs instead of breasts, left them whole and put them on skewers. Because the pieces were larger than the recipe calls for, I let them grill a bit longer to ensure that they were cooked through. The sauce is wonderful! We like things spicy so I added heat with dried red pepper flakes. I served it over white rice and poured the sauce over the skewered chicken, that way the sauce could drip down into the rice. I will make this again and again...it is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was good. I marinated for at least 2 to 3 hours but didn't really taste much on the chicken. Maybe it's supposed to be a subtle taste? The peanut sauce was very good too. I added a little bit of cayenne pepper and I think I will do this the next time to, maybe even a little more, to give it a little of a kick! Good tender chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Excellent recipe, the peanut sauce really compliments the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Nice for a change of pace
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Kids loved it!! Hubby liked the chicken but said the peanut sauce was too sweet. I subbed catsup for the tomato sauce and cut sugar in half. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merlion
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very good. However, the chicken came out a little dry... wondering if it should be basted over the course of grilling them... Also, for added heat, I included cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes in the peanut sauce. Good fix for authentic satay craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 51-60 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States