Indonesian Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Love this recipe. Flavor is pretty close to the real thing as far as I am concerned... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLENYR
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
'just finished making this. The tastes are rather bland for both marinade and sauce. I added honey and another pinch of cumin and some salt. (Next time I'll use much more cumin.) I cubed the chicken. Before bringing it to a neighborhood gathering, I'll add red pepper flakes to the dipping sauce and thicken it. WITHOUT USING THE DIPPING SAUCE, this cubed satay chicken would go great atop a salad for lunch....it's easy and quick to make and can be made beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this not to long ago my hubby loved it thought the sauce was the best ever . even my daughter was happy and she dose not like peanuts at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcakeluver
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
So easy to make and delicous! Im a huge fan of satays and I am always looking for new ideas. I added some Siracha chillie sauce and lime zest to peaut sauce for a little twist. Goes great with a side of noodles and veggies.....all could be done in less than and hr. easy, quick, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcakeluver

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
real good marinate (I let it sit longer) - very yum. Doesn't even need the dip. I liked the dip, my husband doesn't think chicken & peanut butter have much in common.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Rund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
To make the peanut sauce another authentic version, add a little milk and stir it on the stove to thicken it. Also, my Indonesian husband adds a spice packet, that, among other things, has shallot, powered coriander seed and lemon (grass?) in it. Give those ingredients a try for an authentic and unique flavor! When I've eaten satay sitting on the floor of a little on the roadside warung in Indo, they serve it with fresh limes, little green chiles and shallots to chomp on. Taste explosion. By the way it is usually threaded on very thin sticks and about 12 sticks per person on a plate with tons of peanut sauce dripping over it. It is sometimes made with rabbit as well as chicken. Serve with homemade deep fried tempeh yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe. The chicken was very tender and the sauce had a fantastic taste. The only (very small) issue for me was that the sauce was a little too thin, so next time I will reduce the water to 3/4 of a cup or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe! I added extra peanut butter because it was too watery at first and I let it simmer for a while to thicken up. I also added a little dash of red pepper flakes to give it a little heat. I marinated the chicken for about 30 min instead of the recommended 15 min and it turned out great. There was a lot of flavor and the peanut sauce was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRAH4689

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was excellent! I tried it with shrimp too. Several people asked for the recipe for the peanut sauce to use with other dishes as well. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I was surprised at how good the chicken tasted given the simplicity of the marinade, but it turned out very flavorful and moist. I just put whole chicken tenders on the skewers instead of cubing and used my indoor grill plate. The chicken came out great, but I didn't enjoy the peanut butter sauce, which you really don't need anyway because the chicken is good on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States