Indonesian Pork Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I have never had anything but raves about this recipe. I have made it several times now. I usually make a whole recipe and freeze half for later use. The meat has a strong peanutty taste. You can adjust the heat easily and I tend to make mine mild since it must be child friendly. I will usually serve over rice for a main dish with vegies. I have tried cooking it several ways. Outdoor grill stuck and the meat fell off the skewers. Indoor grill (George Forman) worked great if you are only doing a few. Oven works good for a large batch, but I have never had much luck broiling anything, so some were a little under done. The last time I stir-fried in a wok. This is the method I will use from now on. All the meat was cooked and none was dried out or under done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Fantastic! I thought this would steal the show in the dinner I prepared. I used strips and skewered these rather than cubes, but that won't change anything. Definately one for the archives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
TOO SALTY! Rinse the peanuts 3 times if they are salted, then dry them with paper towels and dry roast them in a medium hot pan for 4 to 7 minutes, shaking the pan several times, until the nuts are no longer steaming and begin to aquire a color. Use low sodium Soy Sauce. But this recipe was delicious. The green onions were a delightful note. If you can grab your hands on 1 tbs of dried lemon grass and 1 tsp of fish sauce (in addition to removing the salt from the peanuts) you'd be giving yourself a treat indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I made a double recipe for a large gathering, but had to make it in 2 batches because of blender capacity. However - it was well worth the trouble. Everyone raved, and I'm planning on making this again very soon! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
"This is FABULOUS!!!" Those are the exact words out of my husband's shocked mouth the second he took a bite. I too did not read ahead and didn't realize that it needed to marinate. Went out for dinner last night and it was so worth it to let it sit over night. Didn't cube my pork, I cut my loin into very thin chops. That was the only difference in what I did for the most part. One half of my grill cooks hotter, so a few of them were slightly burnt. This changes the flavor altogether and is enjoyable also. My daughter that won't touch food that has the smallest hint of black on it, wouldn't trade in her burnt piece. We used our cook marinade for our rice instead of dipping our pork in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was so awesome. I made it last nite and my 4 kids devoured it. I was surprised there was any left (I even doubled the recipe), but they argued over who got the left overs. Totally yummy, totally easy. 5 stars, for sure. I served it with pad thai, it was perfect. I baked it (its winter here) at 450 for about 8 minutes. It was nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Great recipe. I made it for an Asian themed dinner party & everyone had seconds. It is a bit salty so use either unsalted peanuts or low sodium soy sauce. I expected it to be a bit spicy b/c of the pepper flakes, but it wasn't. If you like it hotter, add more pepper flakes. I also made it with both chicken & pork & both were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Delicious! Served this for the first time with company over and it was gobbled up. I marinated all day and then cooked it in a pan with some of the sauce. I didn't use the rest of the sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This was absolutely to die for. I couldn't stop eating this great dish! 5 stars! Will definitely use this one again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
Wonderful on Thai noodles and spicier is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States