Indonesian Pork Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I substituted 1 cup low fat, chunky peanut butter for the peanuts, left out the butter completely, and used 1/2 c. low sodium vegetable broth and a scant 1/2 c. low sodium soy sauce to reduce both the fat and sodium content. The sauce was a nice consistency and had good flavor. I reserved 1 cup for dipping sauce and used the remainder to marinate the pork. That way, I could quickly heat the dipping sauce in the microwave without having to worry about boiling it for safety after being in contact with the raw meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I did make a few changes, but it came out great. Also good with chicken breasts. I used 1/2 cup peanut butter instead of chopping peanuts in a food processor. Then, I added the other ingredients. I reduced the soy sauce, as suggested by other reviewers and found it to be just right. We loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Delicious! I used low sodium soy sauce and broth and unsalted butter and didn't think the dish was too salty. We grilled them whole, did not skewer. I boiled the marinade to make a nice topping, which was a tad spicy but delicious. I subbed dry roasted Virginia peanuts for the spanish. I think that this is a keeper! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was very salty, but I did use regular soy sauce since it was on hand. Next time I'll use lite and possibly reduce the the amount. I did rinse the peanuts to remove the salt and oven roasted them. The flavor was pretty good, I plan on making them again in hopes of making them less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
this recipe was excellent! even my 1 year old baby enjoyed it. we will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Great recipe. I made it for an Asian themed dinner party & everyone had seconds. It is a bit salty so use either unsalted peanuts or low sodium soy sauce. I expected it to be a bit spicy b/c of the pepper flakes, but it wasn't. If you like it hotter, add more pepper flakes. I also made it with both chicken & pork & both were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
"This is FABULOUS!!!" Those are the exact words out of my husband's shocked mouth the second he took a bite. I too did not read ahead and didn't realize that it needed to marinate. Went out for dinner last night and it was so worth it to let it sit over night. Didn't cube my pork, I cut my loin into very thin chops. That was the only difference in what I did for the most part. One half of my grill cooks hotter, so a few of them were slightly burnt. This changes the flavor altogether and is enjoyable also. My daughter that won't touch food that has the smallest hint of black on it, wouldn't trade in her burnt piece. We used our cook marinade for our rice instead of dipping our pork in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Really good. My kids wouldn't touch it, but the adults loved it. I didn't realize until mid-afternoon that this was to be marinated (I'm terrible at prep in advance!) so I cheated and baked the pork in the marinade. It turned out really good despite my lack of reading the instructions! Next time, we'll grill it and follow the recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
TOO SALTY! Rinse the peanuts 3 times if they are salted, then dry them with paper towels and dry roast them in a medium hot pan for 4 to 7 minutes, shaking the pan several times, until the nuts are no longer steaming and begin to aquire a color. Use low sodium Soy Sauce. But this recipe was delicious. The green onions were a delightful note. If you can grab your hands on 1 tbs of dried lemon grass and 1 tsp of fish sauce (in addition to removing the salt from the peanuts) you'd be giving yourself a treat indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Delicious! Served this for the first time with company over and it was gobbled up. I marinated all day and then cooked it in a pan with some of the sauce. I didn't use the rest of the sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States