Indonesian Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BEARROBB
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Nasi Goreng - This recipe works best if you use rice made the night before and it is cold from the refrig. I always use jasmine rice. If you do not have 'kecap manis' you can use ketchup mixed with a little brown sugar. I also add chicken to mine and have used tofu. I simply saute the garlic and onion, add one chicken breast thinly sliced with the egg, then I add the veggies , chili's (always red) and season with some salt and white pepper. Once my veggies are cooked I add the pre-cooked rice and the sauces. I may cook for 5 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARROBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I came from Indonesia and nasi goreng is really common for people in Indonesia. I tried this recipe, very nice almost like my own recipe. For me, I'll add the chilli pepper with thai pepper. I like spicy and hot !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zhuangpopo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Living In: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
During my visit to Jakarta fried rice was the main stay of my diet. This taste very close to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is a soupy sauce-fest. Don't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
First of all, this is truly not the original authentic Indonesian fried rice. The taste is okay, I can eat it but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The_Martins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Everyone at the table hsd seconds. Need I say more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This recipe doesn't even look authentic. I'd suggest starting over with new ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Ingredients aren't complete..bottled sauce is even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
sounds simple enough, ill try it soon.. not too sure about all the sauces involved though, a bit worried their gonna get soggy.. but still nice one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawn95

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ampang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. I did not have any kecap manis so I looked it up on line and made it from scratch. The dish will not blow you away but it did taste better than the last Indonesian fried rice I ordered in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States