Indonesian Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Followed exactly and this was just way too saucy, will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used this recipe as a base and added my own stuff to it. I didn't use kecap manis because I don't even know what it is. I skipped the tomato sauce because it just sounded strange and I didn't have any cucumbers on hand so I didn't use those either. I ended up using a jalapeno and a lot of soy sauce. I had some left over baked chicken and cooked bacon so I threw that in too. I also added some green onion and tabasco towards the end. It turned out great! Thanks for the recipe. I wouldn't have thought to add the carrot and celery and they were actually quite nice in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
sounds simple enough, ill try it soon.. not too sure about all the sauces involved though, a bit worried their gonna get soggy.. but still nice one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arif Fikri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ampang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
The chili peppers made it a little too spicy for me but other wise I would say that it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Everyone at the table hsd seconds. Need I say more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheatfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I came from Indonesia and nasi goreng is really common for people in Indonesia. I tried this recipe, very nice almost like my own recipe. For me, I'll add the chilli pepper with thai pepper. I like spicy and hot !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zhuangpopo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Living In: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by BEARROBB
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Nasi Goreng - This recipe works best if you use rice made the night before and it is cold from the refrig. I always use jasmine rice. If you do not have 'kecap manis' you can use ketchup mixed with a little brown sugar. I also add chicken to mine and have used tofu. I simply saute the garlic and onion, add one chicken breast thinly sliced with the egg, then I add the veggies , chili's (always red) and season with some salt and white pepper. Once my veggies are cooked I add the pre-cooked rice and the sauces. I may cook for 5 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARROBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. I did not have any kecap manis so I looked it up on line and made it from scratch. The dish will not blow you away but it did taste better than the last Indonesian fried rice I ordered in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This recipe doesn't even look authentic. I'd suggest starting over with new ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Ingredients aren't complete..bottled sauce is even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States