Indonesian Fried Rice (Nasi Goreng) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made this last night. I omitted the shrimp and used only chicken. I tripled the amount of garlic and I used canned diced green chiles (the whole 4 oz can). I julienned baby carrots and added some snap peas because the Indonesian Rice that I had previously was filled with veggies. I used 2 eggs and 5 TBSP's of Soy Sauce because with the addition of veggies -- it didn't seem to have enough sauce. I LOVED it and chose to make it our meal, my husband felt it was more of a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Loved it !!! We will make this one a family staple Thanks :)I didn't use the chili's so I put a good squirt of sriracha sauce in with the soya sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I grew up on Nasi and my mom always bought the seasoning packet from the local Dutch shop so I was very happy to find this recipe. I made it the other day and it was AMAZING!!! I made a few changes; I used coconut oil instead of cooking spray and sumbal instead if the chillies and I did not make my rice ahead of time just rinced it in cold water in a colander. I also used Braggs Soy Dressing as I didn't have Indonesian Ketjap and it all turned out great!!! Tasted even better than the pre-packaged seasoning mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I followed the recipe to a "T". It was very good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was a great dish to satisfy everyone that was at the table...not too spicy for the kids but had enough flavour to be enjoyed by the adults. We would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe was delicious and a big hit in my house! I didn't use any of the meat as I was using this for a side, but the taste was so good, it didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Iya, this recipe is enak! Only I didn't have any cumin, but next time okay lah. Also, I used the fancy molasses to mix with my soy sauce to make the perfect Kecup Manis. For the shrimp, I only had the dried ones from the Chinese market but I boiled for ten minutes to make soft. The leftover rice from the night before was already in the fridge but after it had let off a little steam. I think it was splendid except my Indonesian wife suggested we should have some terasi. Well, we will have to make a trip to Calgary to find that. num num
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Om Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
A really good recipe I added a few more veggies just because I had them on hand and they needed to be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very tasty. Added some veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I thought this recipe was very good. A Dutch coworker of mine recommended that I cook the onions in bacon grease first and I'm so glad I did! The flavor was wonderful. I added some musherooms that I had on hand and chile paste. I didn't have any shrimp so I just used a full pound of chicken. I also didn't have a leek so I added green onion. Everything else I kept the same. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States