Indonesian Beef Rendang Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My dinner guests thought the meal was amazing, the beef cut with a fork and the flavor was wonderful. Had to print out the recipe for them all. I used the lemongrass in the tube and pieces of lime peel instead of limes leaves. Also I used ginger root instead of galangal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was a success with our small dinner party. Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan4Ever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I am from northern sumatra, indonesia which is where this recipe comes from. I have done this recipe several times in the past, using indonesian recipe book. I think what is missing here are some ingredients: 1. coriander powder 2. turmeric leaves (hard to get outside indonesia) 3. black peppercorn Also, the authentic preparation is much longer. More like 6-8 hours. The minangkabau rendang (minangkabau is the region in sumatra where this dish come from) tends to be dry, with all the liquid evaporated in the slow cooking. The meat is very dark, almost black. To achieve this dark color, put the rendang in oven at 220F for 1/2hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Awesome !....good stuff ! Yes, when I saw the 2 tblspns. I knew that was a misprint....I salt way less anyway and taste as we go... mine came out, delicious !.... Selamat Makan !.... Eet Smakelijk !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johannes Adriaansen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
very good taste..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe was far too salty - it was over powering. I have to imagine that it is intended to be 2 teaspoons of salt, not 2 tablespoons. I've had Beef Rendang at several Indonesian restaurants and it's never tasted like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I use red bell peppers instead of banana pepper and it still came out pretty good. It's nothing close to real rendang but is not bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Amazing dish! I had a similar recipe and I combined two recipes to make this. I didn`t find banana peppers, so I used 3 red pepper and I used only 2 1/2 cans coconut milk, I think, it was enough, because the sauce wasn`t very thick. I put the half of the paste into a pan and added the coconut milk, lemon grass and lime leaves, boiled for about 20 min., then added the meat mixture with the other half of the paste. Overall, this is a great dish, my family was impressed, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States