Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Easy to make and looks impressive when served. I used suggestion of adding swiss cheese and it was good. I used red wine instead of dry sherry -- that worked fine, too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
These are so good and very easy. Great that they can be made ahead. I seared the steaks first. Also put vegetables in food processor which made the paste needed. Has any one used bourbon instead of sherry? I would only bake for 20 mins if the pastry is brown enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I browned the filets for a minute or two on each side before wrapping them with the 'paste'. Everything went well, except the recommended 25 minute cook time. They were all really good and enjoyable after they were done; however, they were all WELL done. So if you like it WELL done, the 25 minutes is for you. otherwise adjust accordingly. Will make again soon, but cook half the time. And I will try to add a little bit of swiss cheese into the 'paste' as others recommended, just to give a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This recipe is excellent! I followed others' advice...seared the filets on the stove for a few minutes, then chopped up the mushrooms and onions. I added two cloves of garlic to this mixture. I also put it on a rack to prevent the bottom part of the dough from getting soggy. I allowed the beef to rest for about 10 minutes after coming out of the oven. It was wonderful. The only part that gave me a bit of trouble is that the dough separated on the first one I made...I used dabs of water to keep the second one intact. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
These little wellies were wonderful, my kids loved them! Huge hit. Tip- I chopped the mushrooms and onions in the food processor before sauteing, so the kids would not recognize them! Still tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Absolutely loved this recipe, But I recommend searing all sides of the filets before wrapping in the pastry. My girlfriend finally believes I can cook after making this for her. Everyone I have made this forhas absolutely raved about the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was very good. I was plesantly surprised at how good it was. I served it for a dinner party and everyone raved. As others said to do, I put the vegetables, including garlic, in a food processor to help make the paste. Then I added this mixture to the butter and sherry in the saute pan and let it reduce, which took a while. I also added swiss cheese to each filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Wonderful! I first seared the steaks in a very hot cast iron pan and cooled them in the fridge. I whirled the mushrooms, onion and parsley in the processor to chop them very finely. I then sauteed in the sherry and butter and reduced as directed. I received kudos from everyone at the table. They are so impressive----and so easy to put together. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
As my very happy husband remarked..."Restaurant quality!" Super easy and quite tasty. I omitted the parsley because I forgot to buy it, but I put the mushrooms and onions in the food processor prior to sauteeing in the brandy and butter as was suggested and it was a great idea. I served this with spinach sauteed in garlic and olive oil and baby carrots. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Very easy and absolutely delicous. I made it for Valentine's Dinner and my husband loved it. I, too, chopped up the mushrooms and onion before sauteing. Goes very well with Bernaise sauce. I used the Blender Bernaise Sauce recipe from Recipezaar.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmillan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States