Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This recipe is excellent! I followed others' advice...seared the filets on the stove for a few minutes, then chopped up the mushrooms and onions. I added two cloves of garlic to this mixture. I also put it on a rack to prevent the bottom part of the dough from getting soggy. I allowed the beef to rest for about 10 minutes after coming out of the oven. It was wonderful. The only part that gave me a bit of trouble is that the dough separated on the first one I made...I used dabs of water to keep the second one intact. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Very easy and absolutely delicous. I made it for Valentine's Dinner and my husband loved it. I, too, chopped up the mushrooms and onion before sauteing. Goes very well with Bernaise sauce. I used the Blender Bernaise Sauce recipe from Recipezaar.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmillan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
As my very happy husband remarked..."Restaurant quality!" Super easy and quite tasty. I omitted the parsley because I forgot to buy it, but I put the mushrooms and onions in the food processor prior to sauteeing in the brandy and butter as was suggested and it was a great idea. I served this with spinach sauteed in garlic and olive oil and baby carrots. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Wonderful! I first seared the steaks in a very hot cast iron pan and cooled them in the fridge. I whirled the mushrooms, onion and parsley in the processor to chop them very finely. I then sauteed in the sherry and butter and reduced as directed. I received kudos from everyone at the table. They are so impressive----and so easy to put together. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was very good. I was plesantly surprised at how good it was. I served it for a dinner party and everyone raved. As others said to do, I put the vegetables, including garlic, in a food processor to help make the paste. Then I added this mixture to the butter and sherry in the saute pan and let it reduce, which took a while. I also added swiss cheese to each filet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
These are so good and very easy. Great that they can be made ahead. I seared the steaks first. Also put vegetables in food processor which made the paste needed. Has any one used bourbon instead of sherry? I would only bake for 20 mins if the pastry is brown enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYSWISKGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Easy to make and looks impressive when served. I used suggestion of adding swiss cheese and it was good. I used red wine instead of dry sherry -- that worked fine, too. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This recipe was just ok... I had trouble creating the "paste" that was supposed to come of the parsley, onion, sherry and butter mixture. The parsley was a little overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Great Recipe. I also seared them in a hot pan before wrapping them, the mushroom and onion mixture can be adjusted to taste! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Roxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Looked cute enough, but way too much food for each person to have an 8oz fillet. Think more like 4 oz. Overall it could use more flavor, maybe some garlic or something. Not to be done in this household again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Fabulous Beef Tenderloin

Impressive, melt-in-the-mouth beef tenderloin that’s so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States