Individual Beef Wellingtons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Almost followed the recipe exactly! I took into account Lisa Marie's review! I seared each piece for 30 seconds in a piping hot cast iron skillet crusted with cracked black pepper and coarse sea salt. I then let them cool down and wrapped in puff pastry, topped with the mushroom mixture (inside the pastry). The hot cookie sheet worked amazingly! I also brushed with egg wash. I baked for 15 mins at 425 then 10 at 325. May take out 5 mins earlier next time as I like my meat very rare. Very flavorful & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Terrific! A great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great! Thank
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Loved this. I make homemade pastry dough first (very time consuming but VERY worth it). I preheated the baking sheet in the oven first. I put mushrooms, garlic, shallots and a little olive oil in a food processor. Then I sauteed it until the liquid evaporated. Meanwhile I seared the sides of the beef for 2 minuses per side. (they turned out a little rarer than I liked so next time I'll do 3 minutes per side). I rolled the dough to 1/4 inch thick placed some chopped prosciutto, the mushroom mixture and then the steak. Folded it over and sealed it by brushing on a little water on the seam. I egg washed the tops and baked for 20 minuses. Tasted amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydnoland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this reciped for a group of people the night before Easter because i didnt want to make ham two days in a row, i tripled it and WOW, it was simple , tasty the steak was moist and i have no idea what kind of steak i used because we had frozen steaks with no labels from a fundraiser but i wouldnt fret about the pastry dough do the best you can and put the seems on the bottom. Cut the mushrooms smaller than slices and cook until its a paste. So easy and lovely to present.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
As is, I find the recipe doesn't make enough of the mushroom paste per steak. I suggest doubling it! Also, to prevent the wellies from turning soggy, make sure to dab any excess liquid out of the mushroom paste and preheat the cookie sheet before placing the wellies on it and baking. Otherwise, it's great and my family enjoys these every time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My family loves this recipe. We make it so often that I make a dozen at once then saran wrap the remaining and throw them in freezer bag in the freezer. When we want to eat them we put them in the fridge the day before. We cut the filets to 4-5 ounces to save a little $$$. I have the most difficulty with cooktime because they are are always different sizes and sometimes I don't have time to let them sit out before baking. My general rule is that when I see clear liquid, I pull them. The small ones cook in about 15 minutes. I also brush mine with an egg wash. Goes great with a bearnnaise (sp?) sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Hey there! This was my first time making this dish and this recipe really helped me out. I wanted to make a full beef wellington, but my hubby brought home cut up prime rib steaks instead! My only comment would be watch the cooking time: I followed the recipe and they were definitely well done. For medium rare I'd suggest sticking the biggest one with a thermometer after 15 minutes -you may find they are done at that point. I definitely accomplished impressing my guests with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitschCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was great! So much easier than I thought it would be. Used shallots and garlic instead of onion, but other than that, followed recipe. It wasn't cheap to make, but for a special occasion it is totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Was amazed at how easy and delicious these were. Just wish the directions were a bit more clear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Beef Wellingtons

See how to make an impressive dinner-party entrée.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States