Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
I made this for my family and me and my husband loved it. I added garlic to the recipe to add a little extra flavor. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Had cabbage in our garden that needed to be used, I made this for my husband and he just loved it. He has told several people about how good it was. I will be making it again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
Maybe it is just because I am from Indiana but, this is the best Fried Cabbage I have ever eaten in my life. I would give it ten stars.**********
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
If you like fried cabbage,you must try this one! It is delicious!! Thanks for sharing this with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Fantastic! Would not change anything. More flavorable than other fried cabbage recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This was great! I did omit the mushrooms but added about 1/4 cup water since I didn't have the liquid from the mushrooms. I don't care for celery so I omitted that also. I will serve this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andalusia, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
The entire family loved this. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Gosh - the taste IS great but it got kind of greasy! I too omitted the mushrooms but added 1/8c water to compensate for their missing "juice." Still - we really did like the taste if it just wasn't so greasy - I felt guilty for eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Great Comfort Food!!!! Never had fried cabbage before and it is awesome and easy to make. I didn't change a thing - yes, it is a little greasy (although I think I may have used a little too much bacon) - I served it with grilled pork chops, mashed potatos and apple sauce. The cabbage and mashed potatos are a great combination. Thanks Gail. Update!!! We had some of this cabbage left over and some mashed potatoes too. I saw a recipe on this site call "Stuffed Kielbasa" - since I had half of a kielbasa in the freezer I ended up cooking that as the recipe stated and stuffed it with the cabbage and left over mashed potatoes. It was great and a good way to use up the leftovers. Try it Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Disappointed it did not turn out the way I had expected based on the previous rave reviews. I found it much too wet and the mushrooms, onions, peppers should have been cooked beforehand so that it would not have "boiled" in liquids. However, I did like the smoky flavour imparted from the bacon which made the dish rich and satisfying. I ended up throwing some cooked rice into the pan in order to soak up the excess liquid. Overall, I thought it was a good homecooking-type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States