Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I love this recipe. I omit green peppers and butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I found no grease problem with this recipe. [Cook bacon over medium-high heat until crisp, drain, crumble, set aside. Combine butter, cabbage, celery, green pepper, salt, pepper and onions. Cover, steam 15-20 minutes. Stir in crisp bacon just before serving.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I'm from Indiana, so when i found this recipie to be very similar to the one my grandmother used to make, i was so excited! It was so good! One suggestion-make sure that when you're cooking the cabbage to wait untill at least some of it is brown or nearly black to take it off the heat because this is when the cabbage has the most flavor. Also, try to use a cast iron skillet if you have one, that's how it's traditionally made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Very easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Excellent taste! Quick and Easy! The only changes I made were I drained the bacon and omitted the butter since there was already some bacon fat in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
A really, really, good recipe. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This is one cabbage dish that my husband can actually eat a lot of!!! It's great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I liked this, but the grease was a little much. Once I remade it with alterations it was great. Try, instead of cooking raw bacon, starting with the butter and either cooked bacon pieces (but still soft) or packaged bacon bits (the kind that is real bacon and still chewy). This provides enough grease for the flavor, without all of the calories. If you end up short on liquid, just add olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I was looking for something different to share at a potluck and did I find gold in this recipe! It's terrific! I didn't think it was greasy at all even though I was expecting it to be with the ingredients but I didn't use all of the fat the bacon left behind either. Thanks for sharing, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We really enjoyed this recipe. That being said, I did change a couple of things. I did not add the butter but did not drain the bacon (there was only about a tablespoon and a half of drippings...maybe we used lean bacon??). When I added the veggies, I did not cover it, but fried it on medium heat, uncovered--stirring every 2 minutes or so--for about 12 minutes. This gave it a bit of a brown or "fried" taste. THEN I covered it and turned it down to low and let it steam for another 10 minutes or so. I added a minced clove of garlic and only half of a pepper (as we aren't huge pepper fans). Otherwise, we followed the recipe. Again, REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States