Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was just above average in taste and texture. I looked for shortcuts to time spent in preparing the dish so I used pre-cut cabbage. I also did not like all the grease and butter, so drained the bacon grease and used less butter. I would make it again, if time permits. Most often I look for something with less prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is the most amazing recipe for cabbage that I have ever used. My whole family loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This recipe is very flavorful, but I did make some changes. I didn't have the celery and canned mushrooms, so I used about 6 ounces of chicken broth along with the remaining ingredients. It reminded me of ham and cabbage!!!!! Excellent!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Loved this recipe! I must admit, however, that I did not use bacon grease--couldn't do it. I just used a little extra butter with the cooked bacon. I also used fresh mushrooms with about 1/3 cup water. This was a wonderful way to serve lots of different vegetables. A big hit with the boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
this was great!! Even my picky/non-veggie eating 3 year old ate it (have to give it 5 stars just because of that!!). Made it from memory cause I did not have my computer at the time and made it a bit different. I cut up the bacon first then fried it semi crisp. then sauted all ingredients (except for the cabbage) for about 15 minutes in a cast iron skillet, then added the cabbage. My husband and myself loved it and it is a definate keeper. Next time I will make it by the cooking directions just to see if it is any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Pretty good recipe. I drained off some of the fat and added a little vinegar for personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I omitted the mushrooms and did not add any liquid (other than what was clinging to the vegetables). I only add about one tablespoon of butter. I Used about 1/2 cup of celery and one yellow, not green bell pepper. This should be glistening - if that seems greasy to you, then don't book with bacon grease! This is down-home cooking for sure. The best thing to do is fryt he bacon up whole, then save it to crumble over the cabbage at the end of cooking. This recipe needs a lot of salt, crushed red pepper, and maybe a dash of vinegar to make it sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Excellent! Super! I will be making this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
My family loves this dish. We can't seem to get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Although this turned out rather greasy - I should have poured away some of the bacon grease - we thought this was absolutely delicious! Such a quick and easy way of eating a variety of veggies. I'll be making this often. Thanks, Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States