Indiana-Style Fried Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This was good, but I modified it and sauted in a couple cloves of fresh garlic and a couple shakes of cayanne pepper for a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Cooked as suggested, we enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
wow! my family loved this dish... I served it with smoked turkey sausage and homemade irish soda bread w/ dried cranberries. I followed the recipe as written. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was a great side dish that I ended up eating as a main dish the next day. Mostly followed directions as written except for a few personal preferences-- no mushrooms, added chicken stock, cooked a little longer. Will definitely use this receipe from now on to make cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash_Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Gibson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Based on others views of being to greasy I drained about 1/2 of the grease and removed the bacon. I added the bacon back at the end of cooking time. It was very tasty. I made sure that the cooking liquid had evaporated and the cabbage was browning/caramelizing which made it have more of a fried taste rather than steamed. Yummy. Next time I might try to sneak in some julianned zucchini to hide another veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is without a doubt the best fried cabbage you will ever eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Tedder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This recipe is Fantastic! My granny used to make fried cabbage, I couldn't remember how, so I looked and found this one. Awesome! I like to add what i call the "Justin Wilson" touch, and add sliced smoked sausage and pepper sauce to taste, goes great with broccoli cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I found this before we were going camping and trail riding and MY Trailer was the most popular in camp now they make sure I have all the stuff to make it when we go Trail riding thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerald L Jaquet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toluca, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was delicious! I used 5 strips of bacon and omitted the butter to make it a little healthier. My husband wanted to know if there was more. I will have to make double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States