Indian Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
This was a great recipe. If you don't have garam masala, you can make it yourself. Just look up garam masala in the encyclopedia here and use those spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I would recommend adding more vegetables, and not adding them until about halfway through the cooking time. Otherwise the veggies are total mush by the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was really good! The spices/seasonings were just right. My husband who has never had Indian food really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
wonderful recipe. served with chicken tikka, naan bread and salad with yogurt-lemon vinaigrette. even the kids (aged 2 and 7) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
A very nice rice dish - I also did not add the veg until much later on... I think this will be my main rice dish in future -- many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Really good. Instead of regular onion, I used green onion that I already had cut up. I hadn't bought Basmati rice, so I used brown rice and adjusted the cook time accordingly. I also added 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I used vegetable out of a stir fry mix, which had baby corn, red pepper, peapods and bamboo shoots-- not entirely Indian vegetables, but good nonetheless. I did not add them until the last 15 minutes of cook time. I think I may play around with the spices a bit next time, but this is still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
A very nice spiced rice, if nothing particularly special or exciting. I am a vegetarian college student and so I am always looking for quick, easy, and cheap main dishes. This one fits the bill. I will definitely be keeping it around. variations: I used a little over a cup of frozen peas and corn, and added them after the rice had been cooking about 10 minutes. I also left the pieces of onion quite large. I added another 1/4 tsp of cumin and some ground black pepper. This works equally well with short-grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This had a really good, almost sweet flavor (could have been the type of onion I used) and was a nice contrast to Curry Chicken. The only problem I encountered was that the cooking time was too long. Had I not checked the pot, I might have burned the rice! Good recipe, overall! If you have more Indian dishes, please submit them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
could use more spice and flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soaad Ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
It was great however, next time i would use less water, maybe just 13/4 cups, use 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of garam masala since i'll like the spices to show more, will maybe even add a stick of cinnamon. Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States