Indian Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
This was a great recipe. If you don't have garam masala, you can make it yourself. Just look up garam masala in the encyclopedia here and use those spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I would recommend adding more vegetables, and not adding them until about halfway through the cooking time. Otherwise the veggies are total mush by the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
A very nice rice dish - I also did not add the veg until much later on... I think this will be my main rice dish in future -- many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Rather plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This had a really good, almost sweet flavor (could have been the type of onion I used) and was a nice contrast to Curry Chicken. The only problem I encountered was that the cooking time was too long. Had I not checked the pot, I might have burned the rice! Good recipe, overall! If you have more Indian dishes, please submit them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Quite good, especially with some plain yogurt with it. I served this with the Indian Barbequed Chicken and sauteed eggplant. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Really good. Instead of regular onion, I used green onion that I already had cut up. I hadn't bought Basmati rice, so I used brown rice and adjusted the cook time accordingly. I also added 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I used vegetable out of a stir fry mix, which had baby corn, red pepper, peapods and bamboo shoots-- not entirely Indian vegetables, but good nonetheless. I did not add them until the last 15 minutes of cook time. I think I may play around with the spices a bit next time, but this is still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Really good! Used more veggies than recipe called for. Goes well with tandoori chicken and a yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
wonderful recipe. served with chicken tikka, naan bread and salad with yogurt-lemon vinaigrette. even the kids (aged 2 and 7) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This was so good. I have made this nearly every week since I found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States