Indian Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
A very nice spiced rice, if nothing particularly special or exciting. I am a vegetarian college student and so I am always looking for quick, easy, and cheap main dishes. This one fits the bill. I will definitely be keeping it around. variations: I used a little over a cup of frozen peas and corn, and added them after the rice had been cooking about 10 minutes. I also left the pieces of onion quite large. I added another 1/4 tsp of cumin and some ground black pepper. This works equally well with short-grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This Indian Vegetable Rice is so yummy and it just gets better the next day and the next. I probably could eat it for breakfast on the fourth day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is a good style pilaf. It comes off well with the garam masala and frozen mixed vegetables. I serve this with many Indian recipes from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was really good! The spices/seasonings were just right. My husband who has never had Indian food really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This was so good. I have made this nearly every week since I found the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
wonderful recipe. served with chicken tikka, naan bread and salad with yogurt-lemon vinaigrette. even the kids (aged 2 and 7) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Really good! Used more veggies than recipe called for. Goes well with tandoori chicken and a yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
Really good. Instead of regular onion, I used green onion that I already had cut up. I hadn't bought Basmati rice, so I used brown rice and adjusted the cook time accordingly. I also added 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I used vegetable out of a stir fry mix, which had baby corn, red pepper, peapods and bamboo shoots-- not entirely Indian vegetables, but good nonetheless. I did not add them until the last 15 minutes of cook time. I think I may play around with the spices a bit next time, but this is still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Quite good, especially with some plain yogurt with it. I served this with the Indian Barbequed Chicken and sauteed eggplant. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This had a really good, almost sweet flavor (could have been the type of onion I used) and was a nice contrast to Curry Chicken. The only problem I encountered was that the cooking time was too long. Had I not checked the pot, I might have burned the rice! Good recipe, overall! If you have more Indian dishes, please submit them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States