Indian Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was pretty good. I agree it's a little bland but I understand it's usually accompanied by a saucy entree so it probably is a perfect side dish. On it's own would be bland. I'm thinking of adding more spices next time and mixing in the vegetables AFTER the rice is done cooking. I didn't like how the veggies turned a dull brownish color after cooking - I'd prefer a brighter color. Overall, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Made exactly as indicated in recipe. Results were very good. Was a great side dish for Indian Butter Chicken and Naan bread. Will absolutely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is decent. It definitely needs more spice and I would serve it as a side rather than a main dish. It's a little boring on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very good! I served this with Chicken Tikka Masala and it was a huge hit. Simple to prepare too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very easy and good...served with tikka masala..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was wonderful! I wouldn't say it was bland though, like some other reviewers said. It wasn't super flavorful, but then again, it's made to be served with sauce (I think). I made it with Makhani Chicken and the sauce complemented the rice nicely. Even my super picky 5 and 4 year old sons ate it! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Wonderful flavor!! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Tasty, but definitely needed something. I added more spices and vegetables and my family liked it, though I felt it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Wonderful, flavorful rice! I took the advice given by others and did not add my veggies until about half way thru the cooking. Also, cut back on the cooking time. 25 minutes is too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was a pretty simple and tasty dish. I didn't have rice, but I had couscous and it made a good swap. Went well with the tandoori chicken recipe on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States